Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2009, 05:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: BROOKLYN , N.Y
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to BIG L A
Can T5's do the job ???

I have a 120 G 48 x 24 x 24, just fish for now but I want to get some sps and lps ... Ive heard about these T5 light and how they are taking over ... Right now I have 65 w x 4 pc and looking to upgrade... I am new to the hobby so all information is appreciated
__________________

__________________
BIG L A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Yes, T-5's are in. I think for your tank a fixture with 6 54w bulbs would do. IMO
PS: I just reread your post and your tank is really on the deep side so sps and evern some lps's might have to be raised up in the tank a bit.
__________________

__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 06:57 PM   #3
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
agree with thin, given the depth you're probably pushing it if you expect to keep them at the lower levels. Even 240 of MH may not be enough. That's the thing with those high tanks
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:08 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You can solve the light penetration by adding a deeper sand bed to about 6 inches. I believe around 20 inches is where you start to lose penetration on T5s, but my numbers may be off,since I can't find any of my lighting links that would help...
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 01:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Yes 20" is the cut off for T-5 HO's at 54w.

[IMG]http://i499.photobucket.com/albums/rr356/thincat/DSC04563.jpg[/IMG
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New T5's and I need a lid....help! mdaniel2882 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-24-2009 11:44 AM
T5's for 6' Tank themangia1984 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 12-29-2008 10:05 PM
Best T5's and Combo Jimbo7 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 07-18-2008 03:35 PM
pics before i get my t5's stevefromga2000 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 1 03-11-2008 01:45 PM
Should I switch to T5's? arminkropp General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-09-2007 10:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.