Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2010, 04:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Can you name this SUBSTRATE?

what is the name of this stuff?

see attachment
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN3250.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	196.4 KB
ID:	25464  
__________________

__________________
alexgcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
no one knows about this tumbled rock, or tumbled vegatative medium?
__________________

__________________
alexgcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 09:17 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Sorry, no clue
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 05:52 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
ryshark's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,649
Aside from a few shells in there, I have no clue what the round stuff is either.
__________________
180-gallon acrylic mainly SPS, SWC 1A Cone Skimmer, APEX Neptune Controller, 3x MP40w Vortechs, Tunze 6045, Radiums 250w in Lumenarc Minis, Galaxy Ballast, BRS Dosers
ryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 07:09 AM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
It looks like tiny pea gravel to me
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 03:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
I dont think it is a rock, the density seems lowers than that of rock. It seems more like a silicate - vermiculite kind of feel, but denser than water.
__________________
alexgcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Put it in water and see if it disolves! Looks like Osmocote fertilizer.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:49 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
It has been in a tank for a few months, not water soluable.

It also looks a a carbon filtration medium Ive seen before - but that was totally grey (this has a natural looking variety of color.)
__________________
alexgcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
If you want to use it, take a reading of your water before you put the substrate in and then a week later take anothr reading. I it is the same then it is safe to use in a freshwater setup.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:41 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 48
Oh sorry I did not clarify, you have brought something to my attention. I have about 1 pound of this substrate in my 20 gal tank (brackish). The water quality is excellent. I am not asking about the functionality of this substrate - I only want to know its name. (I got it from an experienced aquarist)
I would like to have about another .5 pound to thicken the substrate layer and give the tank a fuller look.
__________________

__________________
alexgcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 06:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 11:26 PM
Substrate??? boges_au2006 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 02-27-2007 10:33 AM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 05:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.