Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2012, 05:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
Question Canister Filter Question..

Hello All, My fiance bought a canister filter for our 55 gallon cichlid tank. I just want everyone's opinion of this filter and if it is of good quality and if our money was well spent($200). ..also, if this filter is enough filtration for our cichlid tank of 13 cichlids various species between 1.5- 3 inches long.
He bought the marineland multi-stage canister filter c-360. filters 360 gallons per hour for up to 100 galllons. opinions comments welcome! thank you!
__________________

__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phoenixkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Over the dark rainbow
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by missie View Post
Hello All, My fiance bought a canister filter for our 55 gallon cichlid tank. I just want everyone's opinion of this filter and if it is of good quality and if our money was well spent. ..also, if this filter is enough filtration for our cichlid tank of 13 cichlids various species between 1.5- 3 inches long.
He bought the marineland multi-stage canister filter c-360. filters 360 gallons per hour for up to 100 galllons. opinions comments welcome! thank you!
Yes, I think you made a good choice in filters. NEVER, EVER trust what it says it can be put on. That particular one MAYBE, MAYBE can be put on a 75. But I am sure someone with more experience on this filter will chime in .
__________________

__________________
"Nice skull decoration, it goes well with the neon colored gravel!" - user

Who say's that you can't have more than one tank? Just get one more... just one...
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
It is a good filter and will work well on your 55 gallon. Is it worth the $200 you spent on it? IMO, no, there are much better for much less $$. All MarineLand products are overpriced though.
__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
Bummer, wish I would have known that Pardon my lack of knowing what its called but..
does the intake tube and blower thing have to be placed in a specific place in the tank in relation to eachother?
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
I looked at the Marine land cannisters and I wasn't impressed that much with the flow rate and price. Everyone seems to recommend Eheim or Fluval. Mostly used Aquaclear HOB filters my whole life but took the plunge into cannister filters. I went with an unknown company called Truaqua based out in California. Just bought the AT300 cannister filter for half the price of the Marineland 350 Cannister filter. It works like a charm, does everything it says. Customer service with this company was also excellent. They got my recommendation because I just ordered another cannister from them.
__________________
Skippah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #6
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by missie View Post
Bummer, wish I would have known that Pardon my lack of knowing what its called but..
does the intake tube and blower thing have to be placed in a specific place in the tank in relation to eachother?
I usually put them as far apart as possible. You dont want to just suck up the water that you just put back in the tank. Also, if you have them on opposite ends it will create a little current.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
Look at the reviews here Canister Filters: Marineland C-Series Multi-Stage Canister Filters and on amazon. very good in my opinion. I own (i didnt just look at) a c-220 and the output is much stronger and faster with larger size tubing (which means moving more water) then the eheim ecco 2234 that i have. I'm sure it is plenty of filtration for your 55 gallon tank. i'm pretty sure you would have been fine with the c-220 but no such thing as too much filtration. (too flow is a different story. dont want a whirlpool in the tank lol) I have had the c-220 for about 2 years now and have had no problems with it whatsoever and am very happy with it. I don't know if yours was bought online or through retail store so you maybe could have saved a few bucks but i think you will be happy with it.
Personally with it being on sale now at Drs i would try the c-220 out and see if it satisfies your filtration needs if you can return the 360 and save $100. then if it isn't enough buy another 220 and still end up spending the same as the 360 but get another 80gph filtration.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 05:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
stingrays4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 796
Hi yes try placing the inlet at the opposite end to the outlet,then this gives maximum circulation May i ask what media it came with?
__________________
stingrays4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 03:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingrays4 View Post
Hi yes try placing the inlet at the opposite end to the outlet,then this gives maximum circulation May i ask what media it came with?
Iknow there were ceramic rings(apparently for bacteria) and little bags of carbon. sorry if this doesnt anwser your question....I know very little about canister filters as of yet... and my fiance set it up for me!
__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:54 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
IMHO, you don't really need the carbon unless you have discolored water or are trying to remove meds after treatment. I have a fluval Fx5 running with only the filter pads and rings, and it filters wonderfully!
__________________

__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, filter, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.