Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-29-2005, 05:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Canister filter questions

Ok-I have an emperor 280 HOB now that I use for GAC and a Poly filter. I am finally FED UP w/ the micro-bubbles it produces. I removed the bio-wheel so the spray bar that turns it now just produces tons of bubbles no matter what I try.
So, I have no experience w/ canister filters. I'm looking at the Eheim Ecco series. Can you run GAC, PO4 reducers, etc. in them or only precut "pads"? Do canister filters put out micro-bubbles? Thanks in advance.

Old 10-29-2005, 06:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by MT79
I'm looking at the Eheim Ecco series
BTW If anyone has a better choice or a better bargain feel free to post it. My tank is a 55 gal.

Old 10-29-2005, 06:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Have you considered taking the bio-wheel out of the loop and using a submerged spraybar? I would think that would solve the miro-bubble problem.. HTH
Old 10-29-2005, 06:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Have you considered taking the bio-wheel out of the loop and using a submerged spraybar?
I use the HOB filter strictly for a place for GAC, PO4 reducers etc(I don't have a sump on my tank). The spray bar is part of the filter housing so I can't do anything w/ it.
Old 10-29-2005, 06:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
My bad MT79.. they must have changed the design since Ive seen one..