Canister filter questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MT79

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok-I have an emperor 280 HOB now that I use for GAC and a Poly filter. I am finally FED UP w/ the micro-bubbles it produces. I removed the bio-wheel so the spray bar that turns it now just produces tons of bubbles no matter what I try.
So, I have no experience w/ canister filters. I'm looking at the Eheim Ecco series. Can you run GAC, PO4 reducers, etc. in them or only precut "pads"? Do canister filters put out micro-bubbles? Thanks in advance.

Have you considered taking the bio-wheel out of the loop and using a submerged spraybar? I would think that would solve the miro-bubble problem.. HTH

Have you considered taking the bio-wheel out of the loop and using a submerged spraybar?
I use the HOB filter strictly for a place for GAC, PO4 reducers etc(I don't have a sump on my tank). The spray bar is part of the filter housing so I can't do anything w/ it.

My bad MT79.. they must have changed the design since Ive seen one.. :?
you used to be able to take the biowheel attachment off and plumb your own return (it had a flexable hose conecting the biowheel and it had the spraybar) sounds like they have changed it from what your saying... maybe I can find a pic and see what your talking about..

greenmaji said:
it had a flexable hose conecting the biowheel and it had the spraybar
It's molded plastic now. Maybe I could DIY "jerry rig" it some how but I'd just like to scrap it at this point. You did give me an idea though GMaji...w/ some rubber hose and a clamp I may be able to remove the spray bar and just have the hose dumping the water into the back of the filter. That should cause far less agitation...hmmm