Canister Filters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

puffergirl

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi there just shopping around for a canister filter for a 50gal tank. Wondering what you would suggest. Currently I'm running a Fluval on my 30gal and also one on my 20gal. I'm quite happy with both of them, but been looking at the Eheim, Filistar, and Magnum. Any suggestions or experience with any of these?

I have a magnum 350 on my salt tank and I love it. It has been maintenance free for two years now and is very quite. Watch the price though. I have seen them from 150 to 99 so shop around. I didnt and I paid 150. :x

Check around and look at the different features of each. I chose the filstar XP filters because I am new to the hobby, and they appeared to be the most user friendly for first time canister users. I like the separate basket feature, the auto shut off so the motor won't overheat, and they are cheaper than eheim and fluval. I have also heard a lot of praises and complaints about the fluvals. From what I have read, you either love or hate them. I have not really seen any bad comments about the filstar except for the crappy directions. Their customer support was great though!

For ease of cleaning, I'd go with the fluvals. The 304 is large enough for a 50 gal and bigalsonline has the best price.

Note on the eheim Tankgirl.... I have the 2217 on my 125 and getting the motor housing off is a Herculean feat. LOL

I have a filstar xp1 on my 30 gallon...and if the xp3 is anything like it, I would recommend it whole-heartedly.

Go with the Fluval 404.
I have one on my 55gal along with two penguin 330's.
Lots of filtration but I have Oscars.

I have a fluval 404 on my SW tank, its great, but I took the media out, and just run it for criculation. Its been running great for almost a year now, and haven't had a problem yet.