canister filters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emilator

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hello. i have a 75 gallon aquarium with goldfish. i am considering a canister filter because goldfish are filthy creatures. since i have no experience with them i am seeking advice. what are the pros vs cons of having a canister filter and what are the best brands.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Tank Filtration

hello. i have a 75 gallon aquarium with goldfish. i am considering a canister filter because goldfish are filthy creatures. since i have no experience with them i am seeking advice. what are the pros vs cons of having a canister filter and what are the best brands.

Hello em...

Canister filters are pricier and harder to maintain than say, a filter like a Hagen that hangs on the back. I don't think the canister does that much more than the others to warrant the added cost.

The real issue is keeping the tank water free of dissolved fish waste, so the fish stays healthy. There's not a filter out there that keeps the tank water clean. It just takes in toxic tank water and returns the same water a bit less toxic.

I'd say get a Hagen AC with a gph (gallon per hour) rating of 300 or better and run it along with changing half or more of the tank water every week.

Water is cheap. High end filters typically aren't. Save your money.

B

I have a Cascade 1000 canister on my 75g tank. Personally it's much quieter than any HOB I've seen. They also allow for plenty of customization like Purigen, Bio media, Extra pads etc... HOB just doesn't have as much room. As far as filtration capacity they are pretty much the same. So you can pay more for more customization and a quieter system or just stick with HOB it's all a matter of opinion.

Caleb

Sent via TARDIS