Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-14-2007, 12:40 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
You don't have to prime the Filstar when the power goes off or change the filter. I own a Filstar xP1 myself and the only time you have to prime again is if air gets into the intake. I had the power go out for three hours yesterday and the filter started back up without any problems.

You can reduce the currents by directing them against an obstruction such as rocks, the wall, etc. If you were doing a planted freshwater tank it would be more of a problem if you had too much water current.

The Hydor ETH isn't specifically for freshwater or saltwater. I use it myself on a planted freshwater tank.
__________________

__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 10:44 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I like the fluvials. I just bought the FX5 for $200.00 shipped. I was at PetSmart for a few hours one day, taking apart their filters to see how they were built. I did notice that the fluvials x05 were redesigned and it made it waaay easier to open than the x04s....
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 09:15 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
The FX5 is an excellent filter but not for a 20 gal! I have been running it for over 2 years now. Maintenance is a breeze. I would work well on 75 gals and over.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 09:19 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
Has anyone ever tried using a powerful canister filter to service more than one tank by splitting up the hoses feed and return from multiple tanks. I know if you got disease, it would spread quickly like at the LFS, but I've had all clean healthy tanks for a long and I'm careful about QTing anything new.
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 11:33 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by itafx
Has anyone ever tried using a powerful canister filter to service more than one tank by splitting up the hoses feed and return from multiple tanks. I know if you got disease, it would spread quickly like at the LFS, but I've had all clean healthy tanks for a long and I'm careful about QTing anything new.
I wouldn't risk it, you never know what can happen. If one of the tanks crash you may be in big trouble.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 09:47 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
[/quote]I wouldn't risk it, you never know what can happen. If one of the tanks crash you may be in big trouble.[/quote]

By crash do you mean getting a disease? It seems like if you want to try any production breeding, you need a cost effective and efficient way to do filtration. As I said, there would be a risk of spreading disease if one tank gets it, but if one is careful it seems that it could work. I'm thinking of putting a canister output on one end of a row of 10 gallon tanks and the intake on the other end. Then I could have a tube connecting each tank with the next one in line and in this way filter all the tanks with one big canister filter.
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 10:23 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yeah, I meant disease or any other thing that could happen to a tank. Say you have an ammonia spike, it will hit all of them. I would also think there would be a lot of flow in the 1st tank and less in the last. You would also have to have the 1st tank higher than the 2nd and the third lower than the second, in order to create a siphon. Unless you have a different way of getting the water from one tank to another (I think it could look kinda neat).
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 06:08 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
I've been thinking about this for a while. I think if I have big tubes from one tank to the next, the levels will be the same in all tanks and it will work fine. Think the flow rate in each tank will also be the same because it's a closed circuit. However, the turbulence in the first tank should be much higher than in the other tanks because it will be coming out of a much smaller orafice being the output of the canister filter. I'm looking at Rena filters with a 5/8 input and output. I think the tubes going between the tanks would need to be one inch or maybe even more. I think it will be a trial and error DIY type process.
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 06:33 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Make sure you don't let any of them get clogged....I'd love to see some pics, if you decide to try it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 07:10 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
Yeah, That'd be tragic if they got clogged. I have an idea for tanks getting too low (which would mean one or more were getting ready to overflow. If I put a hole in the intake tube a certain amount below the surface, it will suck air instead of water if it gets that low, thus protecting me from a big mess of overflowing tanks.
__________________

__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, canister filters, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filters zenkatydid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 05-14-2008 04:57 PM
Which of these canister filters are better? Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 04-02-2005 11:57 PM
Canister filters, what do you think? BDAWG Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 02-25-2005 03:36 PM
Canister filters? Mazdaman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-19-2005 11:44 PM
Canister Filters? lmw80 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 05-30-2004 01:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.