Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2009, 08:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Cascade canister

I'm setting up my canister, and am at the part in the instructions where you are supposed to pump the primer button four times and let the chamber fill with water. I've pumped mine about 50 times and can't get the water moving. I know i could just empty a glass of tank water in there to get it started the old fashioned way, but can anyone suggest what I'm doing wrong? I've checked to make sure all the hoses are screwed in securely.
__________________

__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:04 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Do you have the valves open?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 12:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Yep, valves are open. I'll just try filling a glass of water and manually doing it I suppose.
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 02:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 552
Send a message via AIM to FastFly67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Squid View Post
Yep, valves are open. I'll just try filling a glass of water and manually doing it I suppose.
good luck locking down your lid again. i forgot to put the cover on top of the trays one time after i cleaned it and figured i'd just slide it in. watery mess all over my floor.
__________________
FastFly67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 03:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Bah, I'm starting to get frustrated. When I pump the primer, water is filling the motor part of the filter, but only small bit of it. I thought maybe that was all that needed to be filled before plugging it in, but I just heard a dry grinding noise when I tried that and immediately turned it off before I broke something. I place a call to their help line but I'm not sure anyone is really working down there.
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 03:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Nope. Filled up the canister manually and tried plugging it in that way. Same dry grinding noise but no output. I really wish these things came with a trouble shooting manual. Maybe I'm just being pessimistic now but I get the impression the Pennplax help line won't be returning my call either.
I'm just going to walk away from this whole mess for a few days and pretend I can't hear all my friends asking me how the new tank is running .
Is there any threat to leaving standing water in an aquarium? There isn't any light comming in so hopefully algea won't grow.
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 04:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
is there fish in there? is not should be fine. never had that filter so its hard to help. i always take things apart and try to reset it back up hoping i missed something the first time or 4th 5th some times in my case. call back tomorrow.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 09:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Nope no fish. That is the troubling part. I'm so excited to finally get this tank up and running and the lack of filter really has me stopped. I'll try and forget about it for the day then get a screwdriver and see if I can't figure out how it works. failing that, I'll probably contact big al's and see if I cant get some store credit perhaps. Wish me luck!
__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 11:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
the_elvish_misfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to the_elvish_misfit Send a message via Yahoo to the_elvish_misfit
I have a cascade too. Had to pour water in it manually and although thankfully no grinding noise, it overflows back out the chamber over the vacuum stem as well as the waterfall. It works fine but you can definitely tell cascades are the cheaper end of the spectrum.
__________________
the_elvish_misfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:44 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 364
Yeah, I suppose I should have expected trouble. The hose connections seem fine. I blow air through them and see the bubbles all comming into the tank. I just cant seem to get the flow started. I wonder if there isnt a small connector peice missing somewhere that is breaking the airflow from the motor to the tank. I'll cross my fingers and hope their customer service department returns my correspondance, but after that will try calling Big Al's to see if they will let me return it.
__________________

__________________
Da Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penn-Plax Cascade Canister help ltrivas General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 12-15-2009 09:23 AM
Cascade Canister Filter Up To 200gal lamaseta17 Archive 1 05-14-2008 12:53 AM
cascade canister 1500 + LR rubble = ? mike3epanda Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 07-28-2007 03:01 PM
Penn-Plax Cascade Canister- HELP! severum mama General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 05-27-2007 02:57 PM
Cascade Canister and fluval equiptment kagentx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-31-2004 12:59 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.