Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2011, 11:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Changing filters

I am changing to a new filtration system on my freshwater tank. How long should I run the old one with the new one or do I even need to? My thinking is the new one needs to build good bacteria before using it by itself right?
__________________

__________________
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:48 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lawngnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
Well, what type of filter is it Canister or Hang on back? It will never hurt your aquarium to have an too many filters. I don't think that you have to keep the other system running because of that. The bacteria is already in the water and will almost immediately start making its home in the new filter.
__________________

__________________
~Josh
Lawngnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 09:39 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
Negatory lawnmower the bacteria is on surfaces, minimally in the water. If moving from a hob, one could swish the filters in used tank water to clean out the gunk then leave the pads in the tank for a while. If moving to a bigger hob, one might be able to use the same pads or at least put them in the filter
__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Also I am up grading my 55 gallon sw to 150 gallon sw tank and going to use my 55 gallon as a sump what is the safest way to do this for the fish Do i need to set up the 150 and cycle it like when i first started my 55 or can I just move the water from my 55 over and then top off the 150 with new water
__________________
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Filters Saltair Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 12-04-2010 08:27 PM
Changing filters BermudaBlue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-24-2010 09:42 PM
Changing Filters Lowryder Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-08-2010 08:33 AM
changing over filters mark shirah Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-11-2006 02:03 PM
Changing Filters! aquarist15 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-08-2006 09:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.