Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2013, 08:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 33
changing filters will my tank still be cycled

Hey all im changing filters to one with slightly more outflow im wondering if i take all the media out of my original filter and put it in my new one will i have to cycle it again its a 25gal freshwater community setup going from bubble operated filter to water pump canister setup just using stones and wool in the filter atm the new one will havecarbon and bioballs aswell coz i got some layen around now thanks for any help
__________________

__________________
coaldrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by coaldrake View Post
Hey all im changing filters to one with slightly more outflow im wondering if i take all the media out of my original filter and put it in my new one will i have to cycle it again its a 25gal freshwater community setup going from bubble operated filter to water pump canister setup just using stones and wool in the filter atm the new one will havecarbon and bioballs aswell coz i got some layen around now thanks for any help
Any advice
__________________

__________________
coaldrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
reefdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LittleRock
Posts: 1,033
Two options. You can run the new one on the side or shove the mefia in the new one. You may have a mini cycle do too the increase in water flow.
__________________
reefdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 33
Thanks im puting all the media in the new one isll do regular waterchanges u think everything will be ok? i have power issues in order to run them both
__________________
coaldrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
reefdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LittleRock
Posts: 1,033
You will be ok.
__________________
reefdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, cycle, cycled, filter, filters, led, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.