Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-11-2013, 02:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
DIHSRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Changing to a new filter. HELP!!

Hey everyone! This should be a pretty simple question for you guys, so I was wondering if I could get some help. I have a 37gal freshwater tank, that currently has an Eclipse series3 all in one hood and filter system. Tank looks good the fish have been doing great for over 2 yrs now, but the light fixture is crapping out on me and no replacement parts are available since the unit is discontinued. I am wanting to switch to a Fluval 206 or 306 cannister filter with a regular aquarium hood. If I run the fluval in conjunction with the current set up for a few weeks, will it take care of any cycling issues I would have if i just swapped filtration immediately?
__________________

__________________
DIHSRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 02:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscar98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: millville pennsylvania
Posts: 1,722
Run the new filter with the old filter for about a month or so. That should give the new filter time to seed. Or take the media out of current filter and put it in new filter.
__________________

__________________
Oscar98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:19 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
DIHSRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply! I've read that putting the old filter media into the new filter helps jump start things, but it has cartridges and a biowheel. So short of cutting them up I can't see how I could use the established matierial I have. My biggest concern is the safety of my fish, so I guess it will be just like you suggested. I'll end up running them in tandem for several weeks to a month.
__________________
DIHSRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oohitsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Central, OH
Posts: 1,600
Cutting up the cartridge and bio wheel and just putting in the fabric/sponge/whatever it's called in the new filter would work just fine as long as you don't plan to use the old filter anymore.

I just had to do that last week, my aquaclear's motor burnt up on me so I had to try and move everything into a marine land penguin, cut up the old media and stuck it into all the nooks and crannies that I could, and haven't had any cycling issues yet.
__________________
Oohitsae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, filter, new filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.