Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2005, 10:38 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
The bigger impellers are more expensive (22) but mine is on the way and as soon as I replace it I'll let you know how it goes! I'm putting an 18 in my 12. If that goes well I may replace my 7s with 9s too! I have 2x7, 1x9 & 1x12. The 9 is a bit rattley sounding but not so bad that I want to throw it out the window, lol. It's in the frag stock tank in the basement anyway so I don't really care how much noise it makes.
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 12:00 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
For some reason, I think the 7 and 9 are different. I read a little on this on RC when I did the change and seemed like the 5 and 7 were the same housing but different impellers. I check with premium aquatics but they could not tell me on way or the other.

The 7 is all my 1" bulkhead can handle for my frag tank. I have it throttled back a bit
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:37 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 193
Cool, good info. What about the metal screws on the larger drives, will they corrode if the pump is used submerged (SW...)

I think I'm just going to return my 1200 after I replace the cracked pump cover for a 1800 (still w/in 60 days)
__________________
nsu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 02:23 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
The one Mag 7 I have has screws in it. They have not rusted yet. Maybe they are titanium?

My Titanium heater is doing well
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 04:30 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 193
I emailed Danner about the screws, it'll be interesting to see what they say.
__________________
nsu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 05:24 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
We swapped out our 12 impeller for an 18. Man is that moving water now! It is the perfect flow. My fish and corals are thrilled with the increase. Quiet as a church mouse too (so far, lol).
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 06:17 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 193
Sweet, I just went ahead and exchanged my 12 for an 1800 to get the full effect since I need alot of flow for my carbon tube bio bed project.

On another note, I finally got a response from danner about the screws. They are stainless steel. I have heard even the highest quality stainless steel will rust... But I dunno...
__________________
nsu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 01:06 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I have been having problems with my little giant pump. Is there any reason that I couldnt use 2 mag pumps instead of the one little giant? It would be more flow and there would not be any rigging of the fittings....
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 01:09 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 193
I know, I've thought about adding a second pump to mine in case I still don't have enough flow. I wonder what would happen if you put two inline. Continuous flow problems?
__________________
nsu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 01:11 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I wouldnt put the two inline...there are 2 returns and each would get its own pump.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mag Drive Pump fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 06-07-2007 08:31 PM
mag drive 36 clowninround General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-06-2005 07:41 PM
Mag Drive 36 Bearfan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 06-29-2004 10:26 PM
mag drive ??? scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 01-14-2004 04:30 PM
my mag drive 9.5 hotskate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-26-2003 01:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.