Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-20-2014, 10:00 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
As stated in the second link I posted, you'll have to do a few more steps and with a more comprehensive test kit than the one you have. I would just call the water company and see what they use. You may just be seeing chlorine.
They definitely use chloramines here. They have for many years.
__________________

__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:06 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Then according to BRS, you must be going through carbon blocks frequently and perhaps letting some chloramines slip by.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:14 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Then according to BRS, you must be going through carbon blocks frequently and perhaps letting some chloramines slip by.
Since I have always had chloramines in my water I don't have any way to compare the speed I go through them now vs the speed I would go through them if I didn't. However, my current carbon block is over a year old.

Also, the results from the second link you posted seem to contradict the BRS video. Those results show that even using an 11 month old carbon block there was only a negligible amount of chloramines coming through.
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:19 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Well, I'm no chemist. I'm simply passing on information I have found on the internet, and it's up to you if you want to take it seriously.
I can tell you that I have seen countless threads started where folks can't figure out why their corals are declining, and despite water testing, are hitting brick walls and losing a lot of money and marine life.
Since it allegedly doesn't show up on a T.D.S. meter, it's worth a moment of consideration.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:41 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
Man I'm glad I'm strictly FW
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:45 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Please catch me up as I have been a little behind the times in saltwater aquarium water chemistry. Back in the 1980s, we started having chloramines added to the city water and Kordon came out with the product Amquel that was supposed to break the chlorine/ ammonia bond and remove or detoxify both chemicals. I understand that there is now Amquel Plus which continues the same processes adding other properties to help make water safer for fish and invertebrates ( fresh and salt). Is anyone still using these products and if so, would it help to use it then run the treated water through the RO or RODI filter to get a cleaner water more easily? Yes, it's one more step ( a 2 second maybe? process) but removes the ammonia portion that the RO filter doesn't?
Thanks for any clarification.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:53 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The popular consensus is that the less additives you add to a coral/invert tank, the better off you are. If it's not in natural sea water, you don't want it in the aquarium.

If you were going to use the prime, it would probably be added at the very end. The water running through the filter is pressurized. A tough time adding it before the RODI, plus, why would you want to put yet another element(s) in the water you are using expensive filters to clean?
FYI, I go through a carbon block about every 2 months and sediment filters about every 3 weeks. I change the sediment out when it's brown, and the carbon I go by the TDS meter.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:54 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
FYI, I go through a carbon block about every 2 months and sediment filters about every 3 weeks. I change the sediment out when it's brown, and the carbon I go by the TDS meter.
How much water do you think you pull through the unit per month?
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:57 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Well, it's a 150 gpd unit, and I have a booster pump on it for maximum efficiency, and I yeild about 100 gallons a week. Not sure how much waste that makes. Maybe 3 times as much?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 11:04 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
And then the waste is just as it sounds ? Down the drain and into the sewer ?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium advice.
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hos to get rid of chloramines? Fishman007 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 32 10-15-2013 07:24 PM
3ppm Chloramines in tap + high ammonia reading in tank Kairus Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-03-2013 01:42 PM
Treating city water... removing chloramines... fprintf Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 09-29-2005 01:02 PM
Chlorine, chloramines & heavy metals funwiththefish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-04-2005 10:43 AM
Chlorine / Chloramines and Water Tests Nystina Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-19-2004 02:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.