Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-16-2014, 07:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Chlorine V.S. Chloramines

I feel a bit foolish as I've always thought and told folks that zero T.D.S. means zero T.D.S., but I've recently come to learn that this is not the case. Did you know that chloramines are rapidly being chosen over chlorine to treat tap water, and that this will not show up on your T.D.S. meter? Also, this will not all be removed by a simple carbon block. The B.R.S. video here:
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 03:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
I am fairly certain a fairly large part of the United States is treating with Chloramines at this point. My local water has used chloramines since before I started testing which was in 2006. RO/DI will remove it but the easiest way is to use a chemical treatment such as Seachem Prime.
__________________

__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Not for us reef keepers.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:41 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Not for us reef keepers.

You can't use water conditioner?
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
It's been done, but definitely not recommended.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
Care to explain why not?? I don't know anything about SW tanks.
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Because water conditioners do not remove everything from your tap water. The goal to a successful reef tank is to keep pristine, low nutrient water. Most of us have no idea exactly what's in our tap water and while some areas can get away with it, many municipalities allow their residents to drink water that I wouldn't fill my dogs' bowls with.
Generally speaking, fish can tolerate much higher concentrations of pollutants than inverts can.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aqua_holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: not here
Posts: 898
Thank you for that explanation. I think the invert vs fish thing is true of FW tanks too.

So then you use RO water rather than tap, negating the need for traditional water conditioner?
__________________
aqua_holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes. R.O.D.I. actually. I aim for zero dissolved solids in my water.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Yes. R.O.D.I. actually. I aim for zero dissolved solids in my water.
RODI should remove chloramines. At least mine does.
__________________

__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hos to get rid of chloramines? Fishman007 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 32 10-15-2013 07:24 PM
3ppm Chloramines in tap + high ammonia reading in tank Kairus Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-03-2013 01:42 PM
Treating city water... removing chloramines... fprintf Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 09-29-2005 01:02 PM
Chlorine, chloramines & heavy metals funwiththefish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-04-2005 10:43 AM
Chlorine / Chloramines and Water Tests Nystina Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-19-2004 02:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.