Choice of new canister filter help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bert B

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am restarting my 100 Gallon F/W tank after moving to our new home. I have been running a Magnum 350 for 5 years, good filter but lacks biological filtration which has caused some problems SO, I am going to buy a new canister filter and (i won't buy online because i want to see before I buy.) the 2 choices I have are these,

1) the FLUVAL 405

2) THE RENA XP 3 & XP 4.

I need to know the pros & cons of these filters and WHY.
I read on these forums how some canister filters are always breaking or leaking and i don't remember what kind those were. what is the best filter of these two and WHY ?
I need the filter by the end of the week and the fish store has both in stock. I know there are other filters out there but those are not available here just those two i mentioned.
Thanks,
Bert

All my filters are fluvial. I have the 304 on my 55 and the FX5 on my 125. I think between the two brands, they are both about the same. Go to petsmart or petco and take them apart and see which you like better. Then buy it for a lot cheaper online.

How long is your tank and what kind of fish do you have in it? The reason that I'm asking is because I have a Rena XP3 in my 100g (5ft long) discus tank and it's way underpowered for the tank IMO. The XP3 is probably best on tanks 4ft long with a 75/90 gallon being the best overall fit for the filter.