Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2011, 06:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 698
Cleaning Aquaclears

How do you guys and dolls clean your aquaclear filters?

I turn them off, clean motor, rotar and body the reassemble.

I have lost two motors so far in 6 months. They will not start up.

I clean them every two weeks.

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
55g planted in pots H. sf Crossbar Yala Swamp
Aspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspencer View Post
How do you guys and dolls clean your aquaclear filters?

I turn them off, clean motor, rotar and body the reassemble.

I have lost two motors so far in 6 months. They will not start up.

I clean them every two weeks.

Any suggestions?

I rarely do anything to clean mine other than rinsing my media, and my AC70, AC50, and AC30 all work like a charm, have been for years.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:14 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Are you making sure they are filled with water completely before turning them back on? I've always been extremely careful to make sure the motor section is filled and I get as many air bubbles out as I can before turning it on. I usually pour some tank water in, move the water flow adjuster around, side to side, and usually a ton of bubbles come up from the motor.

I usually use a pipe cleaner to clean out the U piece/intake tube. I clean the impeller and shaft off with my fingers and rinse the media basket and the inside of the filter with tank water.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by black hills tj View Post
I rarely do anything to clean mine other than rinsing my media, and my AC70, AC50, and AC30 all work like a charm, have been for years.
hmmm. Mine are in a planted tank and I find java moss around the rotor and motor...maybe just take media out and let the filter run.

tthanks
__________________
55g planted in pots H. sf Crossbar Yala Swamp
Aspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspencer View Post
hmmm. Mine are in a planted tank and I find java moss around the rotor and motor...maybe just take media out and let the filter run.

tthanks
Really? I've never had any of my plants get wound up in the motor/impeller

EDIT: Sand is another story, but even that hasn't killed any of mine.
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I don't ever do anything to mine other than rinsing off the sponges ever now and then. Also, lifting up the intake tube before draining the tank keeps the filter full so you don't have to fill it back up before starting.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 86
two motors in six months is not normal
it should not be sucking up plants
try putting a sponge on the filter intake if you must
algae or some moss growing in the filter is normal, but should never be enough to impede the propeller
make sure the propeller is seated properly before plugging in the motor
__________________

__________________
potatochobit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, cleaning, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank cleaning is Zen? Aquaponic cowboy Cichlid Discussion 9 10-10-2011 02:20 AM
Tank cleaning weekend... zparticle Aquaria Off-Topic 16 09-04-2011 10:48 PM
Cleaning the gravel Steo the great Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-31-2011 11:50 AM
Cleaning BioCube jamesd28 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 0 08-17-2011 02:17 AM
Cleaning the tank basket440 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 08-15-2011 12:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.