Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-05-2009, 02:07 PM   #1
RTV
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
closed loop protein skimmer

I'm thinking of changing from a cannister filter to a closed loop protein skimmer- I've not had any problems with the cannister but, i've been running that and 2 hang on aqua c remora skimmers on my 125g FOWLR tank and I'm a little tired of all the 'junk' hanging on the back of the tank. I was thinking I could eliminate both hang on skimmers and the cannister intake and output and replace with only the input and output of the closed loop skimmer.... so, 2 questions- is this logic correct or would I still need to run the cannister? and does anyone have any experience with this: C-Skim 1200 Protein Skimmer | Venturi Models | Protein Skimmers | Aquarium - ThatPetPlace.com

Any info/guidance is appreciated!
__________________

__________________
RTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
If you already have live rock, that's your biological filtration, thus, no need for a canister. Get a sump (DIY one) and just stick the skimmers on the back of the sump. This is just a cheaper fix to your problem. HTH
__________________

__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:14 AM   #3
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
If you don't have a sump, that skimmer won't work unless it mounted ABOVE the tank. I'm not sure what your plan is/was, but you can't have the skimmer under the tank. It must be higher than the water level in the tank.

Also, if you have that much budgeted for a skimmer, I would look into a Octopus MSX MiniS cone skimmer.

edit: I moved this to the hardware forum
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:51 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccCapt View Post
edit: I moved this to the hardware forum
lol no wonder it canceled my post!

Anywho, if I were in your position, I would build a crude sump to house both of your current protein skimmers. You can use any size tank and it doesn't even need to have baffles.

There are plenty of options for pre-made HoB overflow skimmer boxes, or you can get a kit to drill your tank for the skimmer box(which is fun) or you can even build an effective (but space consuming) PVC overflow.

You don't need a huge expensive water pump either, if you have something that will do 250gph + that will work (however bigger is always better IMO )

I had some other stuff I was gonna say but I lost it when Capt tore this thread assunder!
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
closed loop .HELP PLEASE cassanova General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-21-2005 09:37 AM
what is a closed loop? guitarded Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-18-2004 11:31 PM
Wants a closed loop acid_burn DIY Projects 6 08-17-2004 10:30 AM
Best way to do a closed loop? pomme Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-27-2004 10:50 AM
Closed loop puffer DIY Projects 18 03-17-2003 11:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.