Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-25-2006, 01:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
Closed loop questions

To replace the need for submerged powerheads, I'd like to do a closed loop for flow in addition to my return from my sump. The tank is a 75 gallon and is not drilled.

My questions:

Does anyone have a link to a good diy diagram?

Since the tank is not drilled, what type of "outlet" should I make/use? (perferated pvc pipe?)

I have a few submersible pumps, do I need to buy a dry external pump to do this or is there some way I can make use of what I already own?

Any help is appreciated...
__________________

__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 02:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Quote:
Does anyone have a link to a good diy diagram?
Basically it is just a screened input plumbed to the pump, then from the pump outlput you plumb it back to the tank and split off to a few outlets. If you want me to, I will draw a diagram later and send it to you. (do not have time now)
Quote:
Since the tank is not drilled, what type of "outlet" should I make/use? (perferated pvc pipe?)
If the tank is a glass open top this is not a issue. If it is acrylic I would just drill some holes in the top. Outlets can be PVC etc. Keep in mind you want the outlet so you can move them to control and adjust flow in your tank. Loc-line works great for this.
Quote:
I have a few submersible pumps, do I need to buy a dry external pump to do this or is there some way I can make use of what I already own?
Any pump will work but if you use a submersible you will not gain anything by removing powerheads because you have the pump, pipes, etc cluttering your tank. You can put the pump in your sump and do extra plumbing which will increase back pressure to eliminate clutter. I prefer a external pump mainly because of water temp issues, but both will work.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 02:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
Thanks Brian.

I meant to say "intake" instead of "outlet." I get the use of loc-line for the returns. I guess I'm looking for an alternative to a perferated length of white pvc submerged in the main tank and feeding the pump.

You don't need to draw me a diagram but I appreciate the offer. I get the gist of it but was just looking for photos/ideas...

Thanks again...
__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 04:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Well you are in luck because I can help you with that too. I made my closed loop intake out of 2" PVC. I used a table saw to cut slits in it. I spaced the slits saw blade thickness apart. Clamp a board to the pipe so it can not roll so the cuts start and stop the same place on the pipe. I made it 18" long to handle the 8000GPH of flow. My problem was I have several small gobies, eviota, neon etc that would be easily sucked into it. I found some screen that is I think is made for screen porches for cats etc. It is fiberglass dipped in plastic. I cut a 6" piece of the 2" PVC as a guide and used fishing line to tie it together making a sleeve to slide over the intake. I then turned the sleeve wrong side out so the nice finished edge was showing and not all the knots I tied. The screen is black and hides the white PVC plastic perfect. Better yet within 2 months it is covered in purple coralline. The screen also hides the slits. I had to buy the whole role of screen but will give you enough for your intake if you are willing to pay the shipping.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 05:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hazleton Pennsylvania
Posts: 267
Darn it I saw the title and thought it mite be an electrical question.
__________________
Clarck that theres an RV.
brant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 06:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
Excellent idea. Thanks!
__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I would too like to see a diagram of this. Im thinking of doing a closed loop too but dont seem to be getting the concept of what happens. All I know is I have 6 PH's in my 100 and ImSO tired of picking them up off the sand because the stupid suckers failed!
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 11:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I have a diagram on one of my other computers. I will find it and post tomorrow. (unless someone beats me to it.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 12:04 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Very cool! Thanks Brenden. I had a guy try and explain it to me at work and I dont get it. My idea of even eliminating PH's would be just to run more PVC off of your return pump??
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 12:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 122
http://www.melevsreef.com/closedloop.html

I think this is what your looking for
__________________

__________________
NewInTown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using closed loop? Scatcat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 06-18-2005 10:33 PM
What exactly is a closed loop? mrpope Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-21-2004 09:46 AM
Wants a closed loop acid_burn DIY Projects 6 08-17-2004 10:30 AM
closed loop scuba_steve Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-21-2003 08:24 PM
Closed loop puffer DIY Projects 18 03-17-2003 11:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.