Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-08-2014, 10:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
CO2 distribution

One more question from me today.
I've seen the homemade co2 tanks and the huge co2 tanks. Then I noticed this in a video...Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1412774875.028447.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	211.0 KB
ID:	252235

Can it really be this sleek and small? Would you just make an itty bitty hole and attach a tube to this. Or would u need a pressure regulator? Does anybody know?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 12:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
it can be small and sleek but i believe the one in the picture is a one-time use co2 cylinder. it means that you have to buy the small cylinder very time it runs out as oppose to refill it. for this particular cylinder tank, i could be mistaken but, you can only turn it on or off by rotating the knob on the regulator that it comes with. there's not a solenoid if that's what you're looking for.
__________________

__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 12:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
i know that Ista makes refillable co2 tank, but it's not as small as the one in the picture.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Thanks!!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Do the home made ones really work? I mean you can't control the amount of co2 going into the tank. Couldn't you harm the fish?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristaButler View Post
Do the home made ones really work? I mean you can't control the amount of co2 going into the tank. Couldn't you harm the fish?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
for small tanks under 10gal, I would say, yes. anything bigger than that, no
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Darn it


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 01:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,802
I ran DIY CO2 in my planted 20g long for about 8 months with very good results. However, increased lighting, more demanding plants, and the need for an increased and consistent source of CO2 go me into a pressurized system.
I ran a two 2L bottle system. I had room in my cabinet to hide the bottles. Low cost setup and maintenance.
Caution: Link below to a long boring post. Good for curing insomnia.
My DIY CO2 Setup


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 09:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Lol. So is the ratio 1 2l per 10 gallons?? In other words, do you think is need 3 liters for a 29 gallon??

Also how long does one of those 2 liters last?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 09:20 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
If I just use peacock moss and java fern do I need co2?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question about weight distribution owen0992 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 01-26-2013 06:38 PM
Stand/Tank question (weight distribution) Marconis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 04-26-2011 12:43 PM
Starting some "distribution" tanks Marconis Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 04-08-2011 04:19 PM
Silicone distribution in new tank? Abemas General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-20-2010 06:14 PM
E-mail distribution? astroguy Forum Admin & Announcements 6 01-24-2004 09:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.