Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2006, 12:24 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chicago ridge, illinois
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to nitrous Send a message via MSN to nitrous
co2 reactor idea

since i dont want the expense of buying a co2 system i want to try the diy, i think i will do the 2 ltr bottle thing and have the air line go into another bottle that has the tubing rapped in circles going down to the bottom of the bottle then out into the tank, will that help any
the ones i see, the hagen syste, has the bubble thing like that where it goes down a series of declines... what that do?

will this produce enugh co2 and where will i put the tub in my tank?

thanks
__________________

__________________
20 gal-plants and 2 red zebra chiclids
15 gal- shark tank
36 gal-3 yellow labs 3 red zebra 1 jewel/plants
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 01:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 398
That won't help becasue it is still in a tube, and not really exposed to tank water. The spiral design and the ladder design you are refering to do one thing...they maximize the time the CO2 bubble touches tank water before it rises to the surface and pops. The longer the bubble touches tank water, the more gas gets dissovled into the water. If you watch a bubble travel up the ladder, it gets smaller and smaller.

You can also help it dissolve by increasing surface area. (making one big bubble, many smaller bubbles)
__________________

__________________
10 Gal Planted, 3 wpg, Eco-Complete and Tahitian Moon Sand

29 Gal Planted, 1.2 wpg, Estes Gravel
gfink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 01:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chicago ridge, illinois
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to nitrous Send a message via MSN to nitrous
so if i do the simple idea where its just a 2 ltr bottle with teh solution and then the co2 tube going into the intake tube and then that goes into the filter spinner thing, dont know techincal name, that breaks it up and it then fals into the take thru the output

correct?
__________________
20 gal-plants and 2 red zebra chiclids
15 gal- shark tank
36 gal-3 yellow labs 3 red zebra 1 jewel/plants
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 01:41 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 425
Send a message via MSN to ringfinger
Correct. That would be the easiest and most economical option to try first. See what levels you get, then try again if it isn't working for you.
__________________
ringfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 02:01 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chicago ridge, illinois
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to nitrous Send a message via MSN to nitrous
ya then the next pricey thing will be test kits, which ones do i actually need the most
__________________
20 gal-plants and 2 red zebra chiclids
15 gal- shark tank
36 gal-3 yellow labs 3 red zebra 1 jewel/plants
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
co2 reactor volvolater Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 12-08-2008 05:18 PM
co2 diffuser on timer. (good idea/bad idea?) kangarooooooooo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 01-09-2008 11:44 PM
Aqua Medic Membrane Diffuser vs. Reactor 1000 co2 reactor AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-30-2004 01:17 AM
Idea...filter to reactor...will it work? dansemacabre DIY Projects 0 02-06-2004 09:19 PM
co2 w/pump & reactor or co2 straght in filter? jubei Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-04-2003 09:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.