Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2011, 11:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
LPXnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Co2 system

How long does it take the system to start releasing co2 into the tank once it is set up? I set mine up yesterday morning and am still not noticing a co2 release.
__________________

__________________
LPXnoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:23 AM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I assume you are talking about a DIY CO2 system. It shouldn't take more than a half hour or so (depending on the empty volume of your container (and the tubing, gas separator, etc). In your case, there is either a leak in a system, your mixture is wrong, or you have bad yeast.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
LPXnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
It's not a DIY. I bought the system at petsmart. Lol. I apologize for the vague inquiry. It's a nutrafin system.
__________________
LPXnoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
LPXnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
I found my issue. I had water in the hose line so I just cleared it out by sticking a straw at the base and sucking the water. Beginner error. Thank you for the response.
__________________
LPXnoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 12:18 AM   #5
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
The Nutrafin system is equivalent to a DIY system... glad you found the issue! Best of luck with it. It will make a huge difference with your plants assuming your lighting is adequate and you got it up and running well.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 12:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
LPXnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
I have 5 watts per gallon set up with some good dark substrate. This is my older set up so I honestly can't recall the brand. Lol. All I have is some wysteria and dwarf hairgrass.
__________________

__________________
LPXnoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PWC system Territoons DIY Projects 23 09-21-2011 09:28 PM
I want to replace my filtering system... Retired_AF General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 09-17-2011 04:23 PM
For Sale: 36" HO T5 4 LAMP AQUARIUM LIGHTING SYSTEM in San Diego Luky Archive 9 09-04-2011 12:41 AM
co2 system for 55g, need advice lamiskool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-02-2011 02:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.