Confused about filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Roz

Aquarium Advice Freak
I Have just set up a 40 gallon tank with an Eheim 2073 (350l) filter.

The tank contains four small fantail goldfish (not more than an inch long).

The instructions don't say how often to clean and change the filter media.

Can anyone help me out with some advice?

I am completely new to using canister filters and so would welcome any advice.

Thank you :)

I Have just set up a 40 gallon tank with an Eheim 2073 (350l) filter. The tank contains four small fantail goldfish (not more than an inch long). The instructions don't say how often to clean and change the filter media. Can anyone help me out with some advice? I am completely new to using canister filters and so would welcome any advice. Thank you :)

I would say rinse it out every 2 weeks and every month do a deep clean on the entire filter.
No soap. But you probably knew that just in case

Don't touch it unless flow is restricted or you are having issues with excess nitrates. For a canister this can take a number of months. When its time to clean use old tank water to gently clean the media. (Never use chlorinated tap water!)

Yes definitely don't clean it under the tap. Wash them with tank water as stated above.

I run 2 sponges and 1 floss with carbon in my HOB filter and I clean 1 pad every week. I'm unfamiliar with canister filter but if you can get more sponges I definitely recommend adding more media. It's useful for cleaning, starting a new tank or helping someone else to start a new tank. I just swapped out one if my sponges to speed up the cycle on my gf's betta tank.

Thank you everyone for your advice.

It sounds like you clean the media rather than replace it. Perhaps only replace once or twice a year?