Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-03-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
Roz
Aquarium Advice Freak

Confused about filter

I Have just set up a 40 gallon tank with an Eheim 2073 (350l) filter.

The tank contains four small fantail goldfish (not more than an inch long).

The instructions don't say how often to clean and change the filter media.

Can anyone help me out with some advice?

I am completely new to using canister filters and so would welcome any advice.

Thank you

Old 11-03-2013, 04:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roz View Post
I Have just set up a 40 gallon tank with an Eheim 2073 (350l) filter. The tank contains four small fantail goldfish (not more than an inch long). The instructions don't say how often to clean and change the filter media. Can anyone help me out with some advice? I am completely new to using canister filters and so would welcome any advice. Thank you
I would say rinse it out every 2 weeks and every month do a deep clean on the entire filter.
No soap. But you probably knew that just in case

Old 11-03-2013, 04:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Obsessed

Don't touch it unless flow is restricted or you are having issues with excess nitrates. For a canister this can take a number of months. When its time to clean use old tank water to gently clean the media. (Never use chlorinated tap water!)
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 04:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Yes definitely don't clean it under the tap. Wash them with tank water as stated above.