Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2010, 07:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Convenient RO/DI?

Is there such a unit where I can hook it up to my hose/faucet when I need water, let it fill a 5gal bucket for the sump, then store the unit until next time?

I've been doing tons of research on RO/DI units and can't seem to find any articles that answer this question, they all seem to be a permanent fixture in homes/on tanks.



*if you notice I have a lot of random questions it's because, I work grave, and have internet access* learn learn learn!
__________________

__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 08:41 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
No, the process is too slow to do that and that is why you keep it running all the time on a good sized reservoir. You could do that with just DI, but the cost of going through DI so fast would make it far from worth it.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:02 AM   #3
kee
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
kee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 84
I am not sure if this is what you mean, but I have seen some ones that are called 'portable' on Ebay.
I just purchased a unit from these folks- not a 'portable' one, but maybe this is what you are referring to..

0PPM Portable 100GPD Reverse Osmosis RO+DI Water Filter - eBay (item 380255124367 end time Dec-26-10 13:29:53 PST)

kee
__________________
kee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
There are RO/DI units that tap into the water line under the sink. Those are probably the most hideable units I've seen. The RO/DI process takes time. Even a 5g bucket would take an hour to fill with most units.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:55 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
I have one that you screw onto the faucet head. It's a 75GPD unit. Look for one of those.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:56 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
I would recommend against running a RO/DI into a reservoir "all the time", even if you have an automatic shut-off or other overflow protection. The reason is that when you have a regular full flow over your RO membrane, everything is fine. When you start to slow down that flow, either by way of filling a pressure holding tank or by a float valve, when the water stops the dissolved solids (that can get through) will have more time and opportunity to get past the membrane, and you will end up with high TDS water on the 'clean' side. If you don't flush this out before running it through your DI, you'll burn out your DI a lot faster. So my recommendation on RO/DI is only use it when you need it, run it full-flow ONLY, and ALWAYS run about 1 gallon out of the the RO 'clean' side before running it through your DI.

In my home system, which has 2 pressure tanks and a 25 GPD membrane, my TDS out of the sink tap is over 300 because we only use about 1/2 gallon in one shot, and with 2 4 gallon tanks, the 'clean' side flow is just a trickle compared it if they're both empty, so the low flow allows more time for DS to get by.

I verified that this is the case by having a long discussion with someone who has been in the RO industry for over 20 years.
__________________
My tanks: 120 Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber, 60 Reef Pond w/floating Algae Scrubber, 40 Breeder Reef w/L2 UAS Tester Algae Scrubber
I maintain: 144 SW Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber | 200 SW Reef w/L4 Algae Scrubber
Special knowledge: Algae Scrubbers, Acrylic Fabrication
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 12:44 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Reverse Osmosis Aquarium Water Quality: Maxxima RO/DI Units

This is the one I use. Hooks right up to a water hose and I make my water out in my tool shed. I have it hooked on the wall and make water when ever I need to. I make it in a 5 gallon jug in a rubber maid tote just in case the jug runs over. It`s pretty convienient to me.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 08:02 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I've been using the Typhoon III for 6 years. When I need to make some RODI water I put the unit on the kitchen counter and hook it up to the kitchen faucet. I remove the faucet aerator and screw in a garden hose adapter. The RODI unit connects to that. I run it overnight when making top off water in my 45 gallon reservoir and for about 4 hours when making my 25 gallon PWC water.

I changed to the 150gpd membrane earlier this year and use a booster pump to get the pressure up to 70 psi.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:14 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
Reverse Osmosis Aquarium Water Quality: Maxxima RO/DI Units

This is the one I use. Hooks right up to a water hose and I make my water out in my tool shed. I have it hooked on the wall and make water when ever I need to. I make it in a 5 gallon jug in a rubber maid tote just in case the jug runs over. It`s pretty convienient to me.

I think this is exactly what I am looking for! I just have a small house & yard and I don't really have a place for it inside. Could I just bring this thing to my backyard, hook it up, get the 5g of water, and store the unit in the garage?
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:56 AM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I basically do that except I leave mine in the tool shed. Make water everytime I need to.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.