Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2015, 11:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Coralife UV Ballast (4-wire) vs Odyssea UV Ballast (3 Wire)

Hey all,

I have a Coralife 6x UV Sterilizer, the ballast has gone out (This is the 2nd time), So rather than pay the outrageous price Coralife wants for a new ballast, I purchased a Odyssea UV Ballast from ebay for 1/4 of the price and just figured I would cut the cord and solder/wire it to the Coralife socket...


Well When I cut the cord, the Coralife cord/ballast has 4 wires, the Odyssea only has 3 wires....

Does anyone know anything about this? The bulb socket has 4 pins, so one would think there would be 4 wires...

Thanks!

-TheChad
__________________

__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 123
Well, standard T5 & T8 bulbs also use 4 pins. Some ballasts have Red, Blue, Yellow, & Yellow; others have Red, Blue, & Yellow. The Yellows are common in either case, only difference is whether they bring 1 wire or 2 out of the ballast.

What colors are the wires in the old and new ballasts?
__________________

__________________
>> Jim C. <<
jrc0528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
I figured it out... The Coralife ballast has the starter inside the ballast. The Oddssey ballast the starter is behind the bulb socket...

So I cut the starter out of the Oddssey cap and wired it into the 4 wire coralife harmess!


-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ballast, coral, coralife, odyssea, sea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odyssea or Coralife? Colwell Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 03-04-2013 06:05 PM
Replacement ballast for 150w MH Odyssea fixture? victor.m General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-15-2011 08:58 PM
Coralife Ballast... MattP725 Archive 0 01-05-2005 09:48 PM
Safe to wire ballast like this...? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 07-16-2004 11:50 PM
How to wire MH reflector to ballast? jamal-188 DIY Projects 4 11-08-2003 12:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.