Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-17-2015, 03:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Beej1254's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 613
Cord Management

Just curious to see other peoples solutions for cord management. Sense we have so much stuff plugged into power strips and I find most equipment have short power cords I'm stuck with what I feel like is mostly "safe" and functional.
so have my power strips mounted on a board under my tank in open space. They used to be Velcro striped to the stand itself over each side of the tank...but that left 1 power strip above my open sump haha. Not what I call safe.

This setup is ugly as hell. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1445106832.670918.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	180.5 KB
ID:	279324

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1445106675.309146.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	186.8 KB
ID:	279323
__________________

__________________
Beej1254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 03:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
I use zip.ties and wire cable fasteners. I don't make anything to permanent as im always tinkering..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 04:42 PM   #3
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,527
I always liked using the plastic casings they use for car wiring harnesses they are cheap and always look good and lets you remove or add wires as needed ,
It comes in a lot of colors and sizes and makes those ugly wires look clean and neat ,
I always mark what each wire is for so if I need to remove something I can find it with ease

I also use a gfi outlet that I plug one big wire into as I have made a box with outlets for all my equipment this also is all gfi outlets it's mounted inside my tank cabinet I built , this outlet has it's own gfi breaker also
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 04:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMRC Exotics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 2,356
Good tip seaweed
__________________
TMRC Exotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 04:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
I use zip.ties and wire cable fasteners. I don't make anything to permanent as im always tinkering..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Same...

I stuff them all under the stand but loose so I can mess with things.


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 05:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Beej1254's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 613
Cord Management

I would really like to install some kind of cord track system into my stand but I'm really nervous about drilling pilot holes and putting screws into my stand. I don't want to possibly ruin my stand and it all come crashing down. I know nothing of wood work so if someone could make me feel better about this that would be great lol

Then I'd probably put a power strip on both sides again and clean it all up.
__________________
Beej1254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 05:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TMRC Exotics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 2,356
1/4 inch diameter holes shouldn't harm your intregity at all. I wouldn't go using a hole saw and drilling 2 inch holes but drilling for your needs shouldn't hurt.
__________________
TMRC Exotics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 05:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Beej1254's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 613
Sounds like I know what I'm doing tonight! thanks for the advice
__________________
Beej1254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 06:07 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,807
While you're at it, label the cords/plugs.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2015, 06:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
While you're at it, label the cords/plugs.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Yes, god yes. You know how many times I've went through two different power strips trying to figure out which one was the heaters!!?

Jesse
__________________

__________________
PassengerTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
age

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creative extension cord running RightTurnClyde Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 01-27-2015 11:49 AM
T5ho with one cord but two buttons for lights Reefpete General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 01-27-2012 06:24 PM
Replacing Power Cord Magnum H.O.T 250 caudelfin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-01-2005 09:30 PM
Anyone take pride in "clean" looking cord setup? JamesR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 02-07-2005 06:53 PM
Anger Management class? shawmutt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-11-2003 11:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.