Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2014, 04:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Could my tank use a koralia?

I've never used a power head before and have a few questions. I have a 90 gallon FW community tank and I run 2 AC 110's. I only use the foam and rings but I also use polyfil to polish. Sometimes my water is crystal clear and sometimes there's small debris floating thru-out. Like my filters aren't grabbing everything. I change the polyfil every 2 weeks. (One, one week and the other the next so I alternate them).

I was thinking in getting a Koralia 1150 and maybe that will help?
__________________

__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Is your tank planted?
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
No it's not. That might change in the future tho, still debating.
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:21 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
I just ordered one to keep debris from settling, I've noticed poo on the substrate and plants... Is your issue mainly with debris in the water only? Substrate as well? You may need a stronger filter? How often do you clean the motor housing of your ac's?
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:28 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Debris settles but not too much. Usually just in the water. My filtration should be strong enough since I'm running 2 110's. But it doesn't happen all the time, which is strange. I know someone might chew me out for this, but I've never cleaned the motor before. I have cleaned the inside of my filters before but never taken anything apart. I don't know how, I'll have to search online or YouTube for that. How often does that need to be done?
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:41 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Ohhhh, you'll be amazed how much crap accumulates in there and slows down flow..a lot!! It's simple, just take the filter off the tank, dump it into a bucket, throw all media in bucket of tank water, untwist motor from box, you'll see the impeller, tap motor on your palm until the impeller moves out of motor, it's just a floating magnet.. Than rinse out motor with hot water and q tips.. Easy!!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Yeah that doesn't sound hard haha! I'll do that this weekend when I do my WC. How often do I do that? And is the cord to the motor going to be ok if I get water on it from rinsing? That stuff always freaks me out.
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:00 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishyBusiness View Post
Yeah that doesn't sound hard haha! I'll do that this weekend when I do my WC. How often do I do that? And is the cord to the motor going to be ok if I get water on it from rinsing? That stuff always freaks me out.
I do it every 3 weeks or when I noticed flow drops off, you'll be amazed at the instant improvement. So don't fully submerge the whole motor, I just hold it under the sink and blast is with hot water than q tip and repeat a couple times, if you get the plug wet just dry it off well before plugging back in.. You got this
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:17 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Awesome, thank you. I'm gonna give this a go today and see how it is at the end of the week. I can't handle anything floating in there. At least my waters always clear and you can't see the little stuff floating unless your up close. I'm a neat freak tho, so hope this works! Had these filters for 2 years, this shall be interesting!
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:18 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishyBusiness View Post
Awesome, thank you. I'm gonna give this a go today and see how it is at the end of the week. I can't handle anything floating in there. At least my waters always clear and you can't see the little stuff floating unless your up close. I'm a neat freak tho, so hope this works! Had these filters for 2 years, this shall be interesting!
you haven't cleaned them in 2 years?!?! Holy cow batman!! Haha those babies will be singing when you're done with them!!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:22 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Yeah. Every month I put the media in tank water while I clean the intake tubes and inside of the filter, but never the impeller... Guess I never thought of that. The inside walls and bottom of the filter housing can get NASTY, so I could just imagine what I'm gonna find this morning!
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:24 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Put it this way... If you had otto's?? You could feed them for months with what your going to rinse outta there...I actually did my ac 30 and 20 last night, after a month the 30 was barely flowing, it was packed with buildup..
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:28 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Good grief. I'm gonna get my kids to daycare and see if I can get this thing apart lol! May get to save some money and pass on the extra equipment!
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 10:54 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Ok. I just cleaned both impellers. I think this is good, but I'm disappointed at the same time. There wasn't anything in there but about 2 qtips of diatom algae. Hmmm. Maybe any larger debris gets knocked out when I rinse that part under the tub faucet when I clean the filter housing?
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 11:28 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
It's the diatomic slime, sorry if I made it seem as you would be pulling big chunks out, it's the sludgy stuff that slows it down though, did you use very very hot tap water?
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:24 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Yep! I used my bathtub and we have our water heater set to 130 (F). There wasn't much on the impeller itself, but one qtip was black from in where it sits... If I'm making any sense lol. Now it's somewhat noisy, one of them. But I can deal with it. Kind of a loud humming/vibrating sound... But that one was louder to begin with...
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:30 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Does the flow/suction seem better??
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:31 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
A little. I'll see how it goes the rest of the week and go from there!
__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:36 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,173
Sounds good! I just got my koralia, it's pretty cool, very compact with nifty magnet cups to attach it.. I'll let you know how it works!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:10 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
FishyBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 564
Sounds good! I was going to order one off Drs F&S but I'll wait. Cheap enough I guess... Heard good things about them tho!!
__________________

__________________
Kailyn
FishyBusiness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
koralia, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Started a 125 rectangular salt water tank about 3 months ago, could use advice :). dkimball Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 01-08-2014 02:33 PM
Could you use hardware store sand for a fish tank AquaMan24 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 12-14-2012 10:37 PM
trade - koralia 3 for your koralia 2 mandown123 Archive 4 06-24-2008 09:13 AM
Pains me to do it, but could use some help selling my tank ogden10 Archive 4 08-26-2006 02:36 PM
could i use the product in my tank...(link enclosed) gump3842k Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-13-2004 12:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×