Could my tank use a koralia?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishyBusiness

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I've never used a power head before and have a few questions. I have a 90 gallon FW community tank and I run 2 AC 110's. I only use the foam and rings but I also use polyfil to polish. Sometimes my water is crystal clear and sometimes there's small debris floating thru-out. Like my filters aren't grabbing everything. I change the polyfil every 2 weeks. (One, one week and the other the next so I alternate them).

I was thinking in getting a Koralia 1150 and maybe that will help?

I just ordered one to keep debris from settling, I've noticed poo on the substrate and plants... Is your issue mainly with debris in the water only? Substrate as well? You may need a stronger filter? How often do you clean the motor housing of your ac's?

Debris settles but not too much. Usually just in the water. My filtration should be strong enough since I'm running 2 110's. But it doesn't happen all the time, which is strange. I know someone might chew me out for this, but I've never cleaned the motor before. I have cleaned the inside of my filters before but never taken anything apart. I don't know how, I'll have to search online or YouTube for that. How often does that need to be done?

Ohhhh, you'll be amazed how much crap accumulates in there and slows down flow..a lot!! It's simple, just take the filter off the tank, dump it into a bucket, throw all media in bucket of tank water, untwist motor from box, you'll see the impeller, tap motor on your palm until the impeller moves out of motor, it's just a floating magnet.. Than rinse out motor with hot water and q tips.. Easy!!