Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2012, 11:29 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I would get your water going so you can start your cycle. There is debate as to whether you should run a protein skimmer while cycling. On one hand, some say that you are removing wastes that your bacteria feeds on which helps it to multiply etc. The other side says it will cut down on algae growth due to the nutrients and waste as brown algae thrives on that as well especially since you aren't doing water changes just topping off with RO water. Are you doing a fish less cycle?
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:02 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Elmo1287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 341
Well I was gonna set up my water first
__________________

__________________
Elmo1287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:37 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I would set up my water and use the protein skimmer if you want to just to get it broken in. I've cycled with one and without. To be very honest I had brown algae after the cycle with both due to not doing water changes during the cycle. I used damsels but I'm cycling a 20 gallon now not using fish but using live rock. I don't have a protein skimmer on it yet. =)
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 04:34 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Elmo1287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 341
Do I even need a protein skimmer or can I just use water filters from my local wal Mart and drop some bio beads in their? I was thinking that might actually work and be allot cheaper
__________________
Elmo1287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:06 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
How big is your tank and what are you putting in it? A protein skimmer is usually needed but I've had a 20 gallon tank that didn't have one. I will tell you that you will get less algae (or I should say I do now) with one not to mention better water quality. The skimmer removes DOC's (Dissolved Organic Compounds). Here's a quick article to look at that may help you to decide.

http://www.ehow.com/about_5285976_do...-skimmers.html
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 06:48 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Elmo1287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: kansas
Posts: 341
The site answered a few of my questions
__________________

__________________
Elmo1287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.