dead quiet filter?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Awesomehugs420

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My cousin gave me his old 20gal tank with aqueon filter (I think). It's still going through its cycle but I can't sleep with it on. I'm completely new to this and would like a filter with absolute minimum sound.
I've googled it a couple times and people say aquaclear is quiet but idk if water trickling would keep me up also...
For my current filter I topped the water off so there is no trickle.

The trickling you will get used to, give it a week or so. You could top it off to the lip and you shouldn't get much noise. The aqueons are pretty quiet when the water level is to the lip. The trickling will become second nature. It's funny because at times I let my turtle tank evaporate a little to the point the trickle from the spray bar gets somewhat obnoxious and when people come down to my room they don't understand how I sleep at night lol.

But yeah with a HOB filter it will be hard to achieve the quiet filtration a canister provides. I have a fluval 304 and unless I open the cabinet and listen carefully you would not know the filter was running. There have been times where I was nervous it wasn't lol.

What exactly does a canister filter do differently than mine now? And what would be a good brand that's about $30... Lol