Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2011, 10:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
Dimmer Switches

I was thinking of connecting a dimmer switch inline to the sockets that support my two Koralia 3's to control their flow (feeding times, night time, etc.). Does anyone know if the Koralias will work with variable voltages?
__________________

__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:49 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I believe that the newer versions will, the ones compatable with a wavemaker. Definatley check with the manufacturer first though.

I know that the older versions won't tolerate this well.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 04:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Dimmers on any of the Koralias won't work.

The new ones (Evo) are "controllable", meaning they won't break if you turn them on/off over and over, and can use them as an on/off wavemaker. The old ones would break quickly if turned on/off repeatedly.

The Koralias that ARE variable speed are the 12V version - but those have a special connection that only plug in to the Koralia controller.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dim

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you install a wall dimmer on Metal Halide/PC system? Dr. Dai Phan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-23-2009 10:38 AM
How to wire 2 float switches?? lightemup619 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-30-2009 02:02 PM
auto top off switches lukasnca Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 07-08-2004 09:31 AM
dimmer for Icecap 430 Ballast Sam Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-16-2003 12:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.