Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-18-2013, 10:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
DIRO water question

I have a question about DIRO water use.
I just purchased a filter so I am able to filter my own water at home for use in my FOWLR saltwater tank.
I was wondering if it would be best to also use DIRO water for my water changes in my freshwater tanks as well , this would eliminate the use of a chlorine neutralizer for my tap water that I am useing now with my water changes.

I have had no trouble with a chlorine neutralizer but would think that if I could eliminate it that it could only be a positive thing? Am I right on this.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
You cannot use straight RODI water in your freshwater tank, it will need to be remineralized first, or your fish will go belly up.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Seachem Replenish was designed for freshwater remineralization: Seachem. Replenish

If you are in a planted tank, you can use their Equilibrium.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
So as far as freshwater I'll stick to what I have been doing , it has been working fine.

As far as saltwater when I use DIRO water to mix with the salt ( reef crystals ) the salt mix is what remineralizes the water after it is filtered ?
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:33 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Yes, with freshwater, there is no need to use RODI water.

And yes, with saltwater, the salt mix does the job for you
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:39 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
Got it.

Thanks for clearing that up for me.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
You're more than welcome
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.