Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2011, 10:32 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Ditch the Carbon Pack Already on AquaClear 110?

It looks like the ceramic rings in my 110 are beginning to be "pushed up" in the media basket from what appears to be a "swollen" carbon pouch -- is it possible this pouch is exhausted and needs to be thrown out or replaced with another kind of media?

What are the dangers of just taking the carbon pouch out at this point? (it's been running in the filter since I got it) If I want to drop PhosGuard (Seachem) into the area where the carbon was, in a media bag, is this a problem?

I know the bio rings really shouldn't be replaced in these AC HOBs, but what about the sponge block? Do these just need occasional rinsing?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I don't run carbon on any of my tanks unless I'm trying to remove medication or tannins from the water. About once a month, I really squeeze out the sponge in a bucket of old tank water and I rinse the biomedia in the same bucket to get the gunk off it. It's simple, but it works. The water in my tanks is clearer than the glass.
__________________

__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
medic747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 188
Ok then here is a question I have two powerfilters on my 55 gal one is a terra 70 with carbon filter cartridges and a marienland 250 with a carbon cartridge and bio wheel what can I use instead of these cartridges in my filters
__________________
55 gal. FW chiclid
10 gal. FW feeder breeder
medic747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 12:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
When you say "carbon cartridge" is that a bag of activated carbon or a filter cartridge with some activated carbon inside?

I'm assuming the terra 70 is supposed to be a Tetra Whisper 70. It looks like the cartridges are clam shell style, so you could use whatever you can get to stay in the cartridge. Canister filter foam would be my choice.

I'm not familiar with a Marineland 250 power filter. If it's the 200 or 350 model, look into the media cages. They're a bit tough to find, so I had to order mine online. I cut some canister filter foam to fit the slots of the media cage and used that instead of a filter cartridge. It was far superior to the factory cartridge.
__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 04:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
medic747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 188
Good deal thanks
__________________
55 gal. FW chiclid
10 gal. FW feeder breeder
medic747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 03:11 AM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJim View Post
I don't run carbon on any of my tanks unless I'm trying to remove medication or tannins from the water. About once a month, I really squeeze out the sponge in a bucket of old tank water and I rinse the biomedia in the same bucket to get the gunk off it. It's simple, but it works. The water in my tanks is clearer than the glass.
Well, I wish the water in my tank was clearer than the glass, but I don't think that's ever going to happen in my situation what with the diatom attacks and keeping goldfish; at any rate, the thing is, what is happening to my carbon pouch in the 110 is that it looks as if it's "swelling" and pushing the bio max pellets up in the media basket...

I am waiting on a shipment of Seachem's PhosGuard to help control my diatoms, but in the meantime, should I remove the carbon pack? Does the swelling mean it's exhausted?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, carbon, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AquaClear 110 garrup General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-29-2009 12:39 AM
FS: AquaClear 110 p3purr Archive 2 07-01-2008 06:07 AM
aquaclear 110 Elwood Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 01-12-2007 12:51 PM
Aquaclear 110 MitcherNeaf General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 08-16-2006 11:42 PM
aquaclear 110 degbowl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-02-2006 11:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.