Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-13-2006, 10:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Posts: 289
Do AquaClear users follow the media replacement schedule?

I have an AquaClear 50 with the AC mechanical filter on the bottom and carbon on top of that, with a large-cell foam pre-filter on the intake tube. On the packaging for the media, I'm supposed to change the carbon once a month (let's say the 1st of the month), and alternate between cleaning and replacing the foam once a month in between the carbon replacements (let's say the 14th of the month). So the foam gets replaced once every two months. Is this the schedule everyone else follows or is there a better way to do it?
__________________

__________________
20g tall - planted FW with celestial pearl danios (and some fry!), amano shrimp, and a cute neon blue Endler.
CaysE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 11:23 PM   #2
src
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 476
Most people here don't use the carbon unless there is a specific reason to (removing medication or other chemicals). Also, most just rinse the sponges, keeping them until they NEED replacement (i.e. falling apart). Personally, I run 2 sponges and some ceramic bio-media, and just rinse everything (in tank water from the cleaning) when needed.
__________________

__________________
src is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 11:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
I kept my foam in for almost a year and just rinsed it out with declorinated water to clean it. As long as it didn't start to break down I kept it. The Carbon was rinsed as well but I replace that about every 2-3 months. I ran my tank this way for years.
__________________
Buffalo Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 11:32 PM   #4
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
I also don't use carbon in any of my tanks (all 3 have AC filters). I use sponges only and rinse the top one once a month, then put that one on the bottom. Then the next month I'll be rinsing a different sponge and putting it on the bottom.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 11:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
I meant to say the foam was rinsed once a month and the same for the carbon.
__________________
Buffalo Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 03:10 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
I have some foam inserts that are over 10 years old. Forget the carbon, and run 2 sponges, but clewan them both together, as needed. The one on the bottom will get much dirtier. If you want to polish the water, you can add a little polyester floss, between the two sponges.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 08:18 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD
If you want to polish the water, you can add a little polyester floss, between the two sponges.
That's exactly what I have on my AC70. A lot more bang for the buck IMO. The manufacturer's goal regarding the foam is to sell more of their product. They would never suggest "cleaning" the foam.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 10:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Posts: 289
Interesting pointers. I think I'm going to go with the two sponges and polyfill idea. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
20g tall - planted FW with celestial pearl danios (and some fry!), amano shrimp, and a cute neon blue Endler.
CaysE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, media, schedule

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear 300 h.o.b. w/ media Sicklid Archive 1 04-02-2009 05:54 PM
Aquaclear 30 filter media... papa_bear_21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 06-14-2007 02:06 AM
aquaclear media Meredith Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 03-05-2006 01:52 PM
Filter Media Replacement - Canister noteworthy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 01-06-2006 09:24 AM
Aquaclear Zeo-Carb Media Endgame319 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-23-2004 10:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.