Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2009, 05:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 39
Do I need a glass top on tank ?

I just came across the conclusion that I probably need some sort of top on my 26 bow tank. I am planning on using a Current Nova Extreme Pro system, but dont see it safe to have it over only water. Where do I get a glass top for an aquarium like mine??
__________________

__________________
carberarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 06:05 PM   #2
CTD
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Side of the Mississippi
Posts: 258
Hope this helps you: All-Glass AGA brand versa top 26 bow front black Special packing
__________________

__________________
CTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 06:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Glass is good for keeping things from jumping out, but filtering light thru glass is not a good thing, it does take away and minimize alot of the bulbs benifiting construction.

Most reef tanks dont have tops for this reason.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 06:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTD View Post
You know it took me 3 months to find a place to locate one to order for me 2 years ago.

Its funny cause its a marineland tank and AGA had the top.
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 06:09 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont have one on mine either. Glass tops promote low PH due to poor gas exchange at the surface. Check into some netting over the top instead. I seen I think it was innovator (James) had a link on his sig area on some.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 08:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naperville Il
Posts: 369
I have glass top on my 90.gal. tank.I had a creat but water was splashing too much. I keep my return nozle < return from sump> really high so it can break really good .So it is not nessesarly to moving that surface.How you guys do this. I really want to take off thouse tops. Sorry for interference.
__________________
artur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 08:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCrazyBenBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Where ever the flow go
Posts: 2,577
Almost all of my tanks are open top. Actually all of them except my 55G which only has one hood on it not two.

I've oonly had one experience with fish jumping out, normally fish won't leave the tank if it's in good condintion and they are gettin food.
__________________
FishCrazyBenBOMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 08:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
not needed by any means but helpful in some cases.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 03:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
juice28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma a few block away from O.U
Posts: 279
yea.. i took mine off simply because i got tired of opening it all the time lol then i found out about gas exchange and just left it off, I jut do fill my tank up to the brim so to speak but i have a tall tank so i can do that, you might not have that option is your tank is short depending on your filtration set up
__________________
I;m so deep that if water tried to listen then the rivers would sink...knowledge is power, get ya weight up!
juice28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lynxpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 141
I bought white plastic eggcrate in a 2' x 4' sheet, made for flourescent light fixtures, and cut it to fit. It cut nicely without cracking. They come in white, clear, metal, you name it. I kept the plumbing openings small, only big enough for the plumbing and cords, and if you are concerned about overflows, you can cut pieces to fit them as well.
__________________

__________________
lynxpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
glass, glass top, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Top for 75 gal tank? bgeddes General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-02-2009 02:51 PM
Glass Top VS Egg Crate Top Spazz67 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 09-07-2008 03:10 PM
Thoughts on open top vs. glass top 7Enigma Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 28 08-26-2007 11:39 PM
Top for new tank Do I need glass tops if I build a hood? theedudenator Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-11-2006 06:24 PM
Glass top on tank jmc Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-15-2004 07:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.