Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-09-2012, 12:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Flow863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Do i need a new bulb?

I bought my coralife hqi 150 watt metal halide light off craigslist about 2 months ago and my corals have not been doing so well. I cant figure out why. My zoas have lost almost all of their color and barely open up. My water parameters are
calcium 480
Dkh 11
Ph 7.8
Nitrite 0
Nitrate <20
Could it be that i need a new bulb and they arent getting enough light?
How will i know if i need a new bulb?
__________________

__________________
Flow863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
what are the phosphate levels?
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Could be they got light shock with the new bulb.
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
yes, too much too soon could have been the cause. Try putting some screen or egg crate on top of the tank, above where the corals sit. Or just raise your MH a few inches more above the tank
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 01:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Flow863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
I havent tested for phosphates but i use rodi water so they should be low.
The guy i bought the light from told me that the bulb may need replacing in a month or two so i assume its a pretty old bulb.
I just ordered a new bulb so hopefully that solves the problem
=/
__________________
Flow863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 01:17 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
When you said you bought your corallife hqi
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 01:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
You didnt mention that they were used. Then yes your probably due for new bulbs.
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 01:25 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Flow863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Oh crap i didnt even notice
sorry
So do you think this will solve my problem with my zoas?
I hope so
=/
__________________
Flow863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:44 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by uh.oh...
Try putting some screen or egg crate on top of the tank, above where the corals sit. Or just raise your MH a few inches more above the tank
Remember to do this when you get your new bulb.
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:48 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flow863
Oh crap i didnt even notice
sorry
So do you think this will solve my problem with my zoas?
I hope so
=/
Could possibly.
You mentioned that you use ro/ di water check your phosphate cause once my ro water reaches 1 TDS I start getting phosphate in my ro water. So that could also be something to check.
I
__________________

__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bulb

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.