Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2005, 04:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Do you ground your tank?

I read a article a while back about you should ground your tank if you have submerge pumps. (reduces fish stress by removing charge from the water) I have 2 submerged pumps but they are in the sump. Does anyone ground their tank or have input on this.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 05:09 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I don't. I've read about it, but haven't seen a lot of hard evidence that it helps anything.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 06:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
For the cost of the grounding probe why not do it?? I have one on both of my tanks. Figured it can't hurt to have it...
Fish some big $$$ so what another $15
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 06:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
interesting points - i may look into this after i get some other things inplace
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 09:58 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Grounding is important. You figure Lights, pumps, heaters and skimmers there has to be some stray static electricity. Ground probe will send this out to your ground causing less stress on your tankmates. IMO a very wise investment
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 10:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
I do not ground my tank...I send it to bed without desert! :P
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 10:32 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 12:43 AM   #8
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Grounding probes are actually a bad idea albeit with good intentions. They do nothing for the animals in the tank and actually complete a circuit allowing for current to flow. Voltage is harmless.

http://avdil.gtri.gatech.edu/RCM/RCM...ingProbes.html

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 12:49 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Good call Steve!
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 10:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Dang Steve really?? Wow!

I stuck my hand in my sump one day and got a little jolt from my mag pump. I added a grounding probe....

Should I:

A) Take it out

B) Leave it in

C) Leave it in and unplug it

D) All of the abov

:P :P :P

No seriously should I evict it?
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-the-ground, 500 gallon aquarium fish tank normandaviso Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 23 02-20-2009 02:22 PM
? on an above ground tank ( Huge tank) mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 2 10-25-2007 11:12 AM
Vacuming a tank with ground cover Alshain Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 07-25-2006 10:13 PM
Ground cover for a 2 gallon tank. RocketSeason Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 12-07-2004 04:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.