Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2012, 07:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Lately my AC110 has been rattling... ALOT!

Never had issues with said filters before but now have notice the rattling noise.

If I take the top plastic piece of it goes away. Do you "need" that top?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:47 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Really? Convict all it does that i know of is make it look nicer and prevent some little splashing that it may do. I don't have the top on my one tank
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew McFadden
Really? Convict all it does that i know of is make it look nicer and prevent some little splashing that it may do. I don't have the top on my one tank
Yea really lol. It's been bugging me lol. It's off and now it's all good. My tank is topless also. I have the wooden canopy so you can't tell and you can't even see the HOB so even better!! Off with the top!! Haha
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ya mine stay off for the most part due to rattling and haven't had an issue the only thing is it gives the room a lil stronger "aquarium smell" if you know what I mean lol
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858
Ya mine stay off for the most part due to rattling and haven't had an issue the only thing is it gives the room a lil stronger "aquarium smell" if you know what I mean lol
Haha I gotcha... I'll keep that in mind, the rattling has gotten to me.

My AC only houses a sponge, crushed coral and polishing pads which get changed pretty much every 3 days.

Thanks!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:40 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Billbug68's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Elsinore, California
Posts: 2,897
Mine did that when I first got it. I was so upset! Everyone spoke so highly of them, but something so simple as the top seemed so poorly designed! It eventually went away though... I think sometimes the cause can be if you don't have the little brace underneath sitting tight against the glass, or sometimes the intake tube is positioned so it barely touches the lid causing some vibrations. I just tightened the brace and messed with the intake a little and all is good. Frustrating though, isn't it?
Billbug68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:49 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billbug68
Mine did that when I first got it. I was so upset! Everyone spoke so highly of them, but something so simple as the top seemed so poorly designed! It eventually went away though... I think sometimes the cause can be if you don't have the little brace underneath sitting tight against the glass, or sometimes the intake tube is positioned so it barely touches the lid causing some vibrations. I just tightened the brace and messed with the intake a little and all is good. Frustrating though, isn't it?
Yeah I'm with you! Something so little right? I'm muting the TV before going what is that?!? Where's it coming from?! Haha nailed it, got it, done!

The brace is snug and I thought the lid was on good. Once I took it of it went away. Ahh... Peace and quite.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:55 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Crawdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161

Yea really lol. It's been bugging me lol. It's off and now it's all good. My tank is topless also. I have the wooden canopy so you can't tell and you can't even see the HOB so even better!! Off with the top!! Haha
Take it off! Take it off! Sorry wrong forum
__________________
12, 37, 55
Crawdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I took mine off on every ac I owned for that very reason.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516
I took mine off on every ac I owned for that very reason.
Yeah just started to notice it. Top is off. You would think they would figure a way to solve that issue, after a google search it seems to be common thing with them.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.