Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2012, 10:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
Am thinking about finally buying a Internet capable controller and like the Reefkeeper. Mostly want it for sensors.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
I am too impatient for y'all. I ordered the Elite with the net option. I am going to adapt it to talk to my router wirelessly. The old tank goes computer.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hardridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
I love mine don't use Internet but every thg else is grest
__________________
Hardridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 10:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Just ordered apex lite with ph probe. So excited. Biggest purchase to date. I am also going away on business next week so I'll be able to use monitor on my iPhone
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
Just got it setup. Works great. Only disappointment is that the bus cables that connect everything are not cat5 but phone cables that are modified for data (straight thru). This is a pain as I can make cat5 cables but need a different tool to make these. It also means since the data isn't IP based, I can't use wireless technology to place a module down in my fish room. Have to run a old fashioned phone cable...drats!

It was a bit of a pain as it isn't real clear at first how data recording and such were handled. But it makes sense now.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Is that the reefkeeper? I will be getting my apex Monday
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
Yes...I bought the Reffkeeper Elite. After adding up the modules I wanted, it was a better deal.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Yes it was. I figure I could add modules down the road. Definite want to add conductivity module and probe for 160 or so I think.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 03:03 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
I just ordered the second sensor module that adds salinity. With the ORP probe it is a pretty comprehensive system that they seem keen on enhancing.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 07:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
One BIG downside. The graphing capability they show in their ads on using the head unit has been dropped without telling anyone. You can graph if you connect up a computer, but not stand alone anymore. Had I known this, I would not have purchased this unit as I was after something that could give me a visual trend without a PC being on all the time. "Oh, by the way, that unit you bought doesn't do what it says it can do anymore, sorry" doesn't cut it with me.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
controller, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Sixty Gallon Build :) George9 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2007 02-10-2013 06:13 PM
Hi from the UK jondamon Member Introductions 25 03-28-2012 12:38 PM
Found this guy in the feeder bin Khalix Cichlid Discussion 8 03-22-2012 06:49 AM
Manny the Blackmoor GoldFish Lainey183 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 31 03-20-2012 09:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.