Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-22-2006, 07:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Dosing topoff water.

I have been contemplating dosing my 55 gallon top off barrel to get the CA/PH levels up to match the main before adding.
Does anyone see a problem with doing this. I no longer have a sump because of a bad overflow so I would like to get the top off water up to 400 or 450 if this is ok should I use kalkwasser or something else.
__________________

__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 10:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
I think it would be much easier for you to simply use kalkwasser. That will take care of the majority of your alk/ca needs. If you still are in need of more ca/alk you can always dose those seperately.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Be aware since your topoff water will not have salt mix, it will take more to maintain the levels you want in the topoff water. Just be sure not to "over do it"
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 05:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Thanks for the replies guys... So if I get my 55 gal gallons of top off water up to 400 to 450 CA it should stay at that level because nothing is using it right? also if Im adding the topoff that is at lets say 450 then the main tank "should" maintain or stay close to those numbers right?
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 11:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Are you planning on dosing Mg too? I doubt you will be able to get the Ca level in FW above 350ppm without adding in Mg even if you get the alk around 8dkh.

Honestly, I've never attempted what you are doing. You are more than welcome to try but I think you may find that it will be much simpler to use Kalk and then dose the tank if needed.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 08:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggen
Are you planning on dosing Mg too? I doubt you will be able to get the Ca level in FW above 350ppm without adding in Mg even if you get the alk around 8dkh.

Honestly, I've never attempted what you are doing. You are more than welcome to try but I think you may find that it will be much simpler to use Kalk and then dose the tank if needed.
your probably right,it would be a whole lot easier to dose the the main.My thought was if I got all the levels in the top off water where they should be I would not have to mess with the main so much...
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Oh, I totally agree. Unfortunately, there is no easy way to do it without basically making a "chemical soup" of FW and going from there.

If you decide to do it, please post your results! I'd love to see how it works out.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 07:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggen
Oh, I totally agree. Unfortunately, there is no easy way to do it without basically making a "chemical soup" of FW and going from there.

If you decide to do it, please post your results! I'd love to see how it works out.
I still may try this,I dont see a problem with this,actually I think this would be better for the main. even if I cant get to 400,300 would be better than nothing at all and then with my weekly water changes it should work...we shall see.
__________________

__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dosing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dosing KNO3 causes cloudy water teamgs Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 12-07-2008 04:45 AM
buffering ro/di topoff water ZivioRR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-24-2007 08:55 AM
dosing and water changes m-man Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 08-20-2006 01:29 PM
Topoff water.? bckane Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-17-2005 10:45 PM
2 Days of Dosing - Water Results AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 05-23-2004 05:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.