Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2007, 10:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via ICQ to SerLunchbox Send a message via AIM to SerLunchbox Send a message via MSN to SerLunchbox Send a message via Yahoo to SerLunchbox
drilled holes

So ... I am going to be drilling 3 holes in the back of my tank. All will be 1.5" down from the top of the tank.

2 will be outlets (for a SQWD) and 1 will be an inlet and drain into a sump.

Am I correct in the following. If I have the SQWD hooked up and the tank has 90 degree elbow joints (facing down) that i will not have any issues with water looking to go backwards if the power gets shut off?

Just trying to plan accordingly.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Lunchbox ... "i'm a man, but i can change, if i have to, i guess"

Tankless ... for now ... until i find what i really want (and what the wife lets me get!)
SerLunchbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 11:08 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 06:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ballinafad Ont. Canada
Posts: 133
First off, good luck drilling. I just drilled a 2" hole in my sump and it took me three hours to do it.( I was hung over). In the event of a power failure, the water will drain down in your tank untill the siphon is broken and the piping starts to suck in air. Measure from the water level you want to maintain to the top of your return piping and that is how much water will drain down.
__________________
Fireworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drilled, holes, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Tank Via Holes Drilled in Bottom of Tank? jeffnyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-31-2009 09:59 AM
holes in leaves Cliffz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 07-19-2007 06:48 PM
Hatchet Holes Psyhampster Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-07-2004 09:45 PM
Hatchet Holes Psyhampster DIY Projects 1 12-04-2004 09:29 PM
pre-drilled or not pre-drilled that is my question ohio reefer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 11-14-2003 06:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.