Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2012, 02:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 157
Drilled Tank for Freshwater Setup

I have a chance to get my dream FW tank (well almost) 45wx30hx45d Cube Tank. I really wanted a 48x30x48 but this is close enough.

Anyway, there's only one catch, the tank is drilled (I guess it was used for saltwater setup w/ sump). There are 4 holes on the bottom and 2 on the back wall. From a photo I've seen it appears to be gaskets,etc on all the holes.

So my questions is:
1) Can you use a canister filter with at least 2 of the holes on the back or bottom of the tank, and pluging up the rest with some type of end cap?
2) Are there any issues with placing caps in the holes?
3) Should I simply plug all of the holes and use the filters in/out tubes over the sides?

Any other concerns?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
coalcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 157
Anyone have an opinion/advice? I don't want to buy a tank that I can't use. Help!!!
__________________

__________________
coalcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:44 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
IF your building a dream tank, you could always sump the freshwater tank. Your canister will work as a closed loop as well, but you have to watch the pressure as most canisters are designed to pump up and over the tank, rather than having all the weight of the water in the tank pushing into them.
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
last year I found a tank in the size range I was looking for but it was plumbed for salt with built in overflows and a sump, not exactly what I was looking for but I gave it a shot, this fw planted 150 has been running since last march and it all works very well as a fw system and I have the option of going salt if I ever get the cash or cajones. so in other words if the dimensions are right and the price is right it's definitely worth getting. if you take a look at some of the fluval Vicenza series tanks you'll see they have drilled bottoms being used for fresh or salt using sumps or canisters, good luck
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 157
Thanks for your replies. Very good info.
__________________
coalcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:53 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Island_Emt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 186
My 90g freshwater tank is drilled and I use a 30 sump. Makes for easy maintenance. If I was you I would go with the sump. IMO.
__________________
Island_Emt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 10:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Island_Emt View Post
My 90g freshwater tank is drilled and I use a 30 sump. Makes for easy maintenance. If I was you I would go with the sump. IMO.
+1

easier maintenance, hide your heater, and fit more biomedia
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:01 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 157
What size sump would I need for a 285g tank?

If I don't run a sump and go with a canister filter how would I cap the holes without any leaking issues?
__________________
coalcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:07 AM   #9
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
You could install the proper size bulkheads, and then just use PVC caps/cement.

I like the idea of running a FW sump though. Hide all the equipment in your dream tank. It is already drilled - thats the big expense. Buy yourself a $10 20L at petsmart and setup a sump
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:29 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
I would definetly do a sump. I would do at least a 20 gallon but the bigger is better!
__________________

__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drilled, freshwater, freshwater setup, led, setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Gallon Planted Tank maxwellag Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1156 07-31-2014 03:29 PM
protein skimmer producing bubbles in tank Marquis Saltwater Reef Aquaria 24 02-28-2012 11:36 PM
Best fish for 30gl tank Mr. D Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 02-28-2012 03:21 AM
Stocking ideas for new 30g tall? MandyINCo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 02-24-2012 09:48 PM
plywood tank kdpuffer DIY Projects 3 02-24-2012 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.