Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2010, 03:38 AM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Dual Aqueons on 60-Gallon?

Because we are in the process of stocking a 60-gallon rectangular with fancytail goldfish and I was told repeatedly that these are "dirty" fish that give off a lot of waste (which they do), I just today purchased a second Aqueon QuietFlow filter to accompany the main one we had running in the tank, a model 55 (which was supposed to be good for up to 60 gallons).

I have the smaller Aqueon running on the other side of the tank from the 55, as I thought the extra filtration would be beneficial to the goldfish, but is it okay to run two filters on a tank, notably with one being a different size/model load from the other? Is this too much turbulence in the water in terms of current?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 07:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Not at all... how big is the other filter? I'm not sure that I would go with anything less than two filters 'rated' for 55g tanks or bigger.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 07:14 AM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
Not at all... how big is the other filter? I'm not sure that I would go with anything less than two filters 'rated' for 55g tanks or bigger.
Really, nothing less than a filter like that? Well, it's a good idea that I got the second filter then -- the original filter that has been running is a QuietFlow model 55 from Aqueon, and the one we bought today to supplement it is a model 20. This one is like half the size of the 55, using only one media cart, but I figured this was okay just to aid in the bigger filter's job...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
A thought or two...

I am putting some smaller Aquaclear HOBs on a large tank, and I thought of having one of them draw water from near the bottom of the tank, through an extension of the intake tube. I would have the other draw from about half-way down in the tank. This would give better mixing of tank waters.

Also, and I think your units are good candidates for this, I add additional material/layers to my filtration. I add Seachem Purigen in a pre-bagged form, ditching the carbon filter stage, and add extra bio-media. I also use a pre-filter on my tubes, and put a thin layer of polyester sheet in front of my filter sponge to take out lots of junk. You have to rinse the prefilter on the tube regularly, as it can clog, and I throw away the poly sheet every time I rinse the filter stuff--there is no way to clean it.
__________________
carpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:19 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Thanks very much for your input, carpus! It's appreciated...

Quote:
Originally Posted by carpus View Post
I am putting some smaller Aquaclear HOBs on a large tank, and I thought of having one of them draw water from near the bottom of the tank, through an extension of the intake tube. I would have the other draw from about half-way down in the tank. This would give better mixing of tank waters.
Sounds like a good idea for a clear tank...I actually found out about the supposedly awesome AquaClear filters after I purchased my two Aqueons; if I could do it over again, I'd get the AquaClears...

Quote:
Also, and I think your units are good candidates for this, I add additional material/layers to my filtration. I add Seachem Purigen in a pre-bagged form, ditching the carbon filter stage, and add extra bio-media. I also use a pre-filter on my tubes, and put a thin layer of polyester sheet in front of my filter sponge to take out lots of junk. You have to rinse the prefilter on the tube regularly, as it can clog, and I throw away the poly sheet every time I rinse the filter stuff--there is no way to clean it.
Thanks for the advice here; actually, I have heard really good things about the Purigen -- I want to use it for crystal clear water, but I am in the midst of a very delayed cycle right now using Stability, so I was advised to wait a bit on the Purigen...

How do the Purigen pre-bagged pouches work? Do they just drop into the filter's media area with the carts?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Response from Carpus...

The Purigen bags just drop into the filter basket. Some large baskets would be too big and I don't know what I would do with those, maybe lay two bags diagonally? With smaller baskets like the AC20 has, I sort of squish the bag up a bit and it fits.

Remember that you can use Prime as an ammonia detox tool, too.

I think the big concept here is too maximize your filtration in any way you can. Any space I can take up in the filter basket with some kind of media is the right move in my mind. I usually end up with about 1/3 more physical material in the filter basket than came with the unit originally.
__________________
carpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 06:43 PM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by carpus View Post
The Purigen bags just drop into the filter basket. Some large baskets would be too big and I don't know what I would do with those, maybe lay two bags diagonally? With smaller baskets like the AC20 has, I sort of squish the bag up a bit and it fits.

Remember that you can use Prime as an ammonia detox tool, too.

I think the big concept here is too maximize your filtration in any way you can. Any space I can take up in the filter basket with some kind of media is the right move in my mind. I usually end up with about 1/3 more physical material in the filter basket than came with the unit originally.
Thanks much.
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i know that dual means 2 but.... nicolicious General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 03-13-2005 08:38 AM
Dual Satellite dodgersfan25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 08-09-2004 10:32 AM
dual 400W mogul vs dual 250W HQI jks1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-11-2003 08:38 PM
dual sump peter101 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-30-2003 06:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.