Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-27-2011, 08:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Ebay Halide lights systems.

I know there are much better systems out there but how bad could they be? I mean is it the bulb or the fixture, or the ballast that makes a big difference? Just looking for opinions as I am new to Saltwater but definitly want clams eventually but don't want o break the bank and its a roll of the dice on used. Thanks for any info you provide.

Old 07-27-2011, 08:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I'm thinking of buying one as well. The one I was looking at was 2x 250w mh with 4 39w t5hos. It was about $250. It even comes with 4 power cords so you can use it with a timer! Really tempted to get and will probably get it in the end lol

Old 08-01-2011, 01:01 AM   #3

I recently got one off ebay for $250 shipped. 150w HQI MH + 2x96w actinic CF + 4x blue LED. It has a built in fan, four cords and four switches so you can set up individual timers.

Overall the fixture is pretty decent quality. A weak point is the mounting of the legs. It uses 4 aluminum U shaped piece in the channels with a screw through the leg and screwed into the Aluminum piece. 3 of the 4 stripped the first time I tried to set it up. I drilled out the hole in the leg and the aluminum pieces slightly, then used some stainless screws I had and ground the sides of the heads down to the width of the threaded shaft (think T shaped). This allowed me to fit them from the inside of the aluminum U brackets then fit the legs onto the screw and install a washer and nut to hold them tight. This made the legs very sturdy when they were tightened down.