Ebay Halide lights systems.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tazman282

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I know there are much better systems out there but how bad could they be? I mean is it the bulb or the fixture, or the ballast that makes a big difference? Just looking for opinions as I am new to Saltwater but definitly want clams eventually but don't want o break the bank and its a roll of the dice on used. Thanks for any info you provide.

I'm thinking of buying one as well. The one I was looking at was 2x 250w mh with 4 39w t5hos. It was about $250. It even comes with 4 power cords so you can use it with a timer! Really tempted to get and will probably get it in the end lol

I recently got one off ebay for $250 shipped. 150w HQI MH + 2x96w actinic CF + 4x blue LED. It has a built in fan, four cords and four switches so you can set up individual timers.

Overall the fixture is pretty decent quality. A weak point is the mounting of the legs. It uses 4 aluminum U shaped piece in the channels with a screw through the leg and screwed into the Aluminum piece. 3 of the 4 stripped the first time I tried to set it up. I drilled out the hole in the leg and the aluminum pieces slightly, then used some stainless screws I had and ground the sides of the heads down to the width of the threaded shaft (think T shaped). This allowed me to fit them from the inside of the aluminum U brackets then fit the legs onto the screw and install a washer and nut to hold them tight. This made the legs very sturdy when they were tightened down.