Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2014, 02:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Eclipse Filtration Hood System (HELP ME!)

I think I'm in over my head!

I am a 100% newbie, novice at the art of fish keeping, so bear with me. I bought a used aquarium from Craigslist that came complete with an Eclipse 3 Hood Filtration System. My question is a very basic one, but one for which the internet and the online manual are surprisingly unwilling to answer:

How much of the filter is submerged in water? Is the pump motor assembly supposed to be underwater or just the intake tube?

Currently, the thing just makes a lot of racket when I plug it in, but it doesn't draw up any water. I took it apart and cleaned everything. The impeller is spinning. So my next suspicion would be that I need to submerge the whole thing. But I don't want to be electrocuted from this little adventure in problem solving.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I never knew how little I knew about the world of in-home marine life. Kudos to all you fish enthusiasts! Also...HELP!
__________________

__________________
jlkleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 02:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Fill it up until it stays drawing water, almost to the top with mine..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 03:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks for the quick reply! By the "top" do you mean the top of the tube or the top of the motor? Is the motor supposed to be underwater or above the water?
__________________
jlkleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 03:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Nevermind! I figured it out Thanks!
__________________
jlkleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eclipse, filtration, help me, hood, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
regent/eclipse hood help james_h48 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 04-13-2011 12:12 AM
Modifying an Eclipse system 3 hood? Jermz79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 06-27-2005 01:45 PM
Eclipse 3 hood/lighting/filtration system, never used - RI -Mike- Archive 4 01-21-2005 12:51 AM
FS: Eclipse 3 hood with 65 watt PC light. Archive 5 02-27-2004 06:54 PM
Lighting w/Eclipse 2 hood Frogfries General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-07-2003 09:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.