Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-08-2013, 09:17 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
I bought mine on amazon. The Taotronics rep from Cali called me after I took shipment to ask about the transaction, and to REMIND ME about the warranty, to contact them with the transaction number and any questions. Just my 2Ę.
How long ago did you buy them? As stated, there have been reports of these things failing after 10 months or so now that they've flooded the market.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 09:21 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
also does anybody have any input on the possibility of running 2 radions instead of 3?
i believe 2 radions are sufficient. 1 radion is more than enough to cover the footprint of a 40b. if you do your math correctly, your 72inch tank is 2 40b, therefore should be fine if you just have 2 radions. also, 3 is an overkill in my opinion for both your tank and your wallet. i have seen people running 3 radions to cover their 200-300gal tank. worst case scenerio 2 radions and 1 taotronic for your tank.
__________________

__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 09:38 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post

How long ago did you buy them? As stated, there have been reports of these things failing after 10 months or so now that they've flooded the market.
August. If they fail, they fail. I attempt to warranty them. If I get screwed, I get screwed. It wasnt a $1000 system. I'll buy a SunSystems UFO led next time.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 11:07 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Morangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
If they fail there isn't much to them and should be pretty easy and inexpensive to fix. Replacing drivers should only take a few minutes.
__________________
Morangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 11:09 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morangus View Post
If they fail there isn't much to them and should be pretty easy and inexpensive to fix. Replacing drivers should only take a few minutes.
Yea I'm not too worried about it.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 01:29 PM   #16
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Huma, I run 2 radions over my 55. If you went that route with them covering 30' each, you could get away with 2 with your tank being 72' long by putting coral around the edge/ middle that do t require as much light. All you'd have to do is plug in johnathan's graph and you are good to go.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 04:40 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
this is awesome news! being as to how there are several members stating I can run 2 radions, I should be able to order both units in January. (if I get 2, I can sell my current fixture to recoup some of the money!)only problem now is hopefully I can ctch BRS selling them again in January. . . hopefully
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 05:31 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
this is awesome news! being as to how there are several members stating I can run 2 radions, I should be able to order both units in January. (if I get 2, I can sell my current fixture to recoup some of the money!)only problem now is hopefully I can ctch BRS selling them again in January. . . hopefully
I think that sale was a one off...almost every retailer had them on sale for the same discount, probably authorized by Ecotech.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 07:42 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I have ran those taotronics or similar fixtures for a couple years now. I have 6 of them. One RB unit, and the rest are assorted. Some are even the first generation non-dimmable models. All work fine and are very quiet. I even dropped one right in the tank (while it was off). I just ran a hair dryer on it for an hour or so and it worked fine after...lol...but I wouldn't recommend this.
I don't care what anyone says, if you have a 6' tank, you need 3 fixtures, no matter who is the manufacturer. You won't be happy with 2. Not unless you have some supplement to take up the low light zones, like a couple 5' actinic t5 lamps maybe...
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:17 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
the initial thought was to buy 2 radions, temp mount them to cover the tank as best as possible, this way id have the power to start keeping higher-light corals, then in march or april buy a 3rd radion panel, then permanently mount them in their respective spots. idk though, its beginning to get a bit overwhelming. I happened to glance over the AI hydras and realized that I could just buy 3 of those and be done with it, but I don't know what their controllability is through an apex controller. also I know that I mentioned the apex earlier, but the fact is that I would have to crack open each Chinese panel, pull their drivers, replace them with the correct drivers so that my apex could then control them (ramping up and down). that scares me because the warranty would be null and void at that point.
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, ecotech, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.