Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 238
Eheim 2215 filter flow weak?

I have an eheim 2215 on a 29 gal and lately it seems the outflow is weaker than it used to be.

I took it apart and cleaned it today. But still weak! Any suggestions??

Also if I shake the canister it spits out a little air.. Almost like its trapped air and never fully pushed it out. But it doesn't seem to help I've been shaking it a bunch to get the air out.
__________________

__________________
Calvin and Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AquaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 116
I saw a thread similar to this not too long ago. Someone suggested cleaning the impeller and it worked. It may work for you too.
__________________

__________________
AquaShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaShark View Post
I saw a thread similar to this not too long ago. Someone suggested cleaning the impeller and it worked. It may work for you too.
I cleaned the hoses, and that seemed to help a lot. But I didn't mess with the impeller at all. I could look at that.
__________________
Calvin and Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
Sonnds like the impeller to me. I have the same filter and my flow was starting to decrease also. I was amazed at how much stuff was on the impeller when I pulled it out the first time. It is now just part of my maint. schedule every couple of media changes , it only takes a few minutes to clean it.

Remove the wing nut looking plastic piece on the bottom of the motor and then pull the impeller out , clean the recess in the motor for the impeller , I use a small brush and some Q tips then blow it out with a garden hose , disassemble and clean the impeller ; be careful not to loose the rubber caps on the impeller shaft ends and don't bend the shaft since it is ceramic . Reassemble in reverse order and good to go.

Can almost guarantee that will get it back where it should be for flow.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
The air is pretty much normal. I gently shake mine a couple times to get most of the air out and just let the rest work it's way out by itself. Should have no effect at all on the flow issue.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 04:21 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Clean the impeller make sure you don't have to much media packed in to tight

Make sure the double taps are clean and open fully and no unneeded bends in the hoses

To get the air out just give it a few shakes
__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 05:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 238
Okay! After cleaning the hoses, and the impeller its back to about where it used to be! So I think it's good now! There was a brownish slim in the hose and on the impeller, I think that was the culprit!

Thanks a lot guys for all your recommendations n such!
__________________
Calvin and Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 347
Sounds like it.

My hoses had a good amount of the slime in them also. I used a piece of wire with a loop twisted on one end and took a small piece of filter floss tucked it through the loop and pulled it through the hoses to clean them out then rinsed them well. Worked really good and best of all it was free.
__________________
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 12:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba dude View Post
Sounds like it.

My hoses had a good amount of the slime in them also. I used a piece of wire with a loop twisted on one end and took a small piece of filter floss tucked it through the loop and pulled it through the hoses to clean them out then rinsed them well. Worked really good and best of all it was free.
Yeah, I hooked my hoses up to our outside watering hose and just turned them on full blast luckily enough it was strong enough to clean it.
__________________

__________________
Calvin and Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eheim, eheim 2215, filter, flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.