Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-08-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Electrical safety

Hello,

I'm new to fish tanks and was wondering what you guys do in terms of electrical safety?

The electrical circuit my tank is on has a 30mA residual-current circuit breaker.

I was thinking of additionally putting a plug-in 10mA RCD between the power socket and fish tank gear so I can root around in the tank with lights, filter, ... (all having 230v wires going into the water) still on without having to worry about safety.

What do you guys do?

Thx

Old 11-08-2012, 08:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to sudz
Replace the socket with a GFI socket. that way any zap you could potentially get will be lightning quick.

They're about 15-20 bucks at the local hardware store.

I also have all my items plugged into a UPS, which has a surge protector, but more for the safety for my tank, rather than me

5 Gallon Guppy tank (Daughters tank)
sudz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

According to Wikipedia what's called an RCD or RCCB in the UK and Europe is the same as what is called a GFI or GFCI in the States. Just so we're all on the same page
They are usually 30mA which would be redundant in my house, I've only seen 10mA ones on the Internet.

How many hours is a fish tank relatively safe in case of a power failure (which is very rare where I live)? I do have a heavy 12v battery and a 230v inverter, which could drive the filter for at least a few hours if needed.
Old 11-08-2012, 04:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to sudz