Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-30-2004, 05:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 2
emperor 400

I am currently cycling my 135 gallon, and have it setup with 1 emp 400. I have another emp 400 on my 55, which I will move to the 135 once cycling is complete. The new tank will contain 2 large Oscars and 1 large pleco. Will 2 emp 400's be enough for the 135? The tank dim's are 72 x 18 x 25. The packaging says one emp 400 can handle up to 80 gallons, but everyone I've talked to seems to think 2 of these may not be enough filtration. I've also read about converting emp 400's to "reverse action power filters". Has anyone done this, and does it make a difference? Finally, should my intake strainer be towards the bottom of the tank, or in the middle?

thanks for your help,

Dan
__________________

__________________
hacksaw_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 07:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 215
I have changed my filter from near the bottom to the middle and it appears to work better. When I clean my substrate it is cleaner than it was when the suction was near the bottom and it seems to have a better flow.
__________________

__________________
Overstocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 08:16 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Mines in the middle, and my 1 400 handles my 72 bow.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2004, 09:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Endgame319
You should be fine if you only have those three fish. Thats only 36" of fish in 135g of water. If you get anything else than yes you'll need more filtration. A rena filstar xp3 would be good.
__________________
Cam
Endgame319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Filter flow | light »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emperor 400 Diablos Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-07-2007 08:00 PM
Emperor 400? ksfishguy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-09-2006 11:45 PM
emperor 400 dodgersfan25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 10-24-2004 10:46 PM
emperor 400 fesone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-14-2003 06:07 PM
Question about Emperor 400 toddwess General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 10-01-2003 10:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.